Top Ten Tuesday: My favorite ‘world builders’

ttt

Hosted by That artsy reader girl.

So the directions for this week topic was the following: Bookish Worlds I’d Want to/Never Want to Live In. First I had every intention to stick to this topic because it sounds awesome especially since there are so many vivid and exceptional worlds created in books. However when I sat down to make my list and started t o think about it more I realized something. If I drop into said worlds as myself, alas as puny human being I would either never survive or just couldn’t enjoy the world. Because let’s be honest, I can’t choose contemporary worlds because they are not new so it wouldn’t be any kind of change. So that leaves fantasy worlds, where there are always either some kind of wars, they are technological lagging behind, or there is some kind of social or magical hierarchy where only a small percentage of the population can enjoys the basic comforts of life. This means I found something that could kill me in a minute in every world or something why I wouldn’t want to live there. So that strikes the worlds I would want to read and also the worlds that I would never survive because one of them is nonexistent and the other is endless.
That’s when I got to thinking about how to twist this topic into something interesting but still fitting. See my topic which is My favorite world builders aka authors who always create phenomenal worlds for their stories. This way I not only get to introduce some of my fave fantasy worlds but also get to give credit to the authors. It still needed some stipulations because there are a bunch of colorful and complex fantasy worlds out there. Okay so really I had only one rule:

  • There has to be more than one world that I find spectacular by the author (this automatically strikes the authors who only has one series or book out yet and also the ones who created only one world and writing every series of theirs in that one otherwise it would be a reallylong list, and I can’t really title someone a pro world builder is they only created one so far) because there is a thing called lucky combination.

Among the following authors the first 3 were the ones that came to mind immediately, I love everything from them and they are not only really talented in the world building department but in other areas as well. The rest of them are also created phenomenal worlds on their books but I didn’t love all of their stories, there were a couple of instances where the only thing that awed me was the world building.
I also only can choose obviously from authors I already read from more than one series.

So let’s get started:
hr part 1

  1. Keri Arthur

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  2. Ilona Andrews
  3. Scarlett Dawn

hr part 1

  1. Marie Lu
  2. Helen Harper
  3. Devon Monk
  4. Samantha Young (Pre- contemporary one. I don’t know how many of you know her fantasy stuff but that’s what she started out with and they were so good. I loved every one of her YA fantasy and I’m really sorry that she doesn’t write those anymore.)
  5. Ella Summers
  6. Julie Kagawa

+1. Honorary mention is Rick Riordan, I know practically all of his books take place in one world just in different corners of it but I think the way he combined the different mythologies with modern life is worth the mention.

 

60 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My favorite ‘world builders’

  1. Katie @ Owl Always Be Reading

    I love the way you made this topic your own! I love the Kate Daniels series and the world is so interesting and captivating. I admit, I’ve just read a few and I really need to read more! A few of the other girls on the blog love Marie Lu which I have yet to dive into!

    Thank you so much for stopping by Owl Always Be Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Rissi

    I’ve never read anything by Julie, but I see her books often and see she’s quite popular. I did read “Warcross,” which took me by surprise. I quite liked it. Makes me not only want to read the sequel, but also more books by Marie! Cannot wait to discover more of her worlds. 🙂

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Annemieke

    I like Marie Lu, and I really liked the Legend trilogy but her other two series haven’t worked for me unfortunately. I do intend to read the second Warcross book just to see which direction the plot will go in. I have the same thing with Julie Kagawa. I love her ideas but have trouble with her writing/characters.

    I really need to start Magic Bites and I see a few new authors to check out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Viki Post author

      Yes, well I had some problems with characters in Julie Kagawa books as well but the world she created was really interesting.
      As for the new authors to check out, I’m glad, they are great.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

You Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.