ARC Review: Bone driven by Hailey Edwards

The bayou is burning, the battle is just beginning – and Luce Boudreau is smack in the middle of no-man’s land . . .

Life as a cop in Canton Town, Mississippi, is never dull – particularly when hiding deep within you is a demon bent on the apocalypse. Luce is doing her best to pretend her two worlds aren’t crashing into each other, but what should be a routine arson investigation takes a shocking turn when Luce discovers a link between the suspects and her own dark secrets. There’s no turning back, even though her search for the truth threatens to burn her old life down around her.

Lines are being drawn in a war Luce barely understands, and she just might be on the wrong side of them. Now she must embrace her powerful destiny, or the ones she loves most will pay the ultimate price.

Book Two in the powerfully addictive fantasy series The Foundling, perfect for fans of Ilona Andrews, Jenn Stark and Helen Harper

What readers are saying about Hailey Edwards:

‘A fantasy of a five-star read!’ Amazon reviewer

‘This is a well written and entertaining story, full of humour and suspense, that I found to be a terrific read.’
‘A fast-moving journey filled with the unexpected.’ (RT Book Reviews)

‘Hailey Edwards has exceeded all expectations.’ (Goodreads)

‘Well-plotted fantasy with intriguing characters, heart-pounding action, suspenseful intrigue and subtle romance. (RT Book Reviews)

‘Edwards has this way of writing that makes you feel like the narrator is talking to you and that you’re old friends.’ (Goodreads)

‘The world building is fresh . . . The characters are well-drawn and easy to root for. And the romance really hits the spot. ‘(Red Hot Books)

‘One of the most interesting books i have read in a long time, it starts off pretty normal but when the shocks start coming they don’t stop and Luce ends up feeling from one revelation after another.’ Amazon reviewer

‘One aspect of her writing I enjoy is her ability to take the mundane and with a few changes, turn it into something unique and unexpected. She builds dynamic character bases, using common mythology but takes it one step further using previously unseen species or imbibing currently known species with skills and know how that offers readers something new in the paranormal world.’ (Smexybooks.com)


Title: Bone driven
Series: The foundling #2
Author: Hailey Edwards
Genre: Urban fantasy
Release: May 31st 2018 by Piatkus
Goodreads

hr part 1

Viki's Review

I received a copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange of an honest review.

I absolutely loved the first book so I was ecstatic when I got the opportunity to review this one as well. Unfortunately, this story only was a 4 star for me because I didn’t find it as captivating and intense as it was the case with the first book, but still an awesome story.

The story continues a couple of weeks after the events of Bayou born and things are a bit tense all around Luce. Her relationship with her coterie is shaky, why they accepted her everybody has their own reservation especially due to Luce personality is nothing like they expected. Then there is the fact that she has to lie to everybody who she loves and she is not good at it. Also the threat of Luce sister is still looming in the air.
While the first book was all about discovering Luce birthright and her past this one was more of an adjustment period. You could feel it, the first 3 quarter of the story is definitely slower, there are police cases and some investigating going on but for the most part the book is about how Luce is going to handle her new life as an FBI agent. She prepares herself to let go of her current life but has a hard time of it, she doesn’t know how to break the news to her family and even if she really wants to. I liked the book but the progression of it was pretty slow and in a couple of cases I felt that Luce and her team were overlooking obvious clues because they concentrated on the wrong things.

There are a couple of new players in the game and they bound to bring some new issues in the oncoming stories. I still love Luce and she was even better around the end of the book where she started to tap into her powers more. She was a badass. Her relationships on the other hand are crumbling around her. Her family and friends are ‘disappearing’, her coterie has reservations regarding her true self, thou they like the new Luce but they don’t trust her. I especially love her tentative connection with Cole. Then there is her new partner who is the biggest mystery in this book, although at first I thought he is trouble I grown to like him.

I enjoyed reading this book, it has a completely different feel to it than the first but the connection is clear. While we get to know some more about the charum world it is still less than I would have preferred.  That side of the world building is kind of patchy and considering we are at book 2 I would have loved more insight.
After how things ended in this story I expect a faster paced and action packed next book and personally can’t wait.

4 stars

 

You Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.