Review ‘Until Ashlyn’

Title:Until Ashlyn
Author: Aurora Rose Reynolds
Series: Until her #3
Genres: Romance, New adult
Add to Goodreads

Dillon Keck knew Ashlyn Mayson was drunk when she suggested they get married. He knew he should have taken her back to their hotel room and put her to bed. Instead, he did what he had been craving to do since the moment they met.
Claim her as his.
Waking up married in Vegas isn’t something Ashlyn Mayson ever thought would happen to her. Having Dillon, her boss, a man she thinks is a dick, insist they stay married is absurd, but every time he touches her, she gets lost in him and wonders if maybe they are meant to be together.

But someone isn’t happy for Dillon and Ashlyn and their new found romance, and they’re willing to do anything to keep them apart. Even commit murder.

Okay people this one was the first one in the Until her/ Until him series so far that hit the mark when it comes to my expectations. I absolutely loved this one and it kind of restored my faith in the series. What more, it surprised me because I didn’t think I will like this one at all, thanks to my opinion based on the snippets of Ashlyn and Dillon relationship from previous books.

Ashlyn is a bit nutty, eccentric, outgoing and has a quick temper. She makes a feisty heroine and the banter between her and Dillon is absolutely hilarious. I love the way their relationship forms and changes as they slowly starts to get to know each other on a deeper and deeper level.
Dillon is overprotective, a bit uptight at the beginning and really intense. Not to mention he has a couple of old school view of the place of women, which he quickly looses after Ashlyn discourages his notions. I loved it about him that he didn’t let Ashley run away or to turn away from him.

“Oh, God, you were drugged.” I rest my hands against his chest and drop my voice, “Don’t worry. We’ll go to the hospital and they’ll give you something. Once you’re better, this will all be taken care of.”

“I think the real question is why do you have a theme song for shaving your vagina? And”—he holds up his hand, pointing at his finger and the band there—“you’re my wife. I can do whatever the fuck I want when it comes to you.”

The only thing why I didn’t give it a perfect score is the way the conclusion was structured. I mean there were a couple of out of the blue and not really fitting hints in the story about the possible conflict. After a while it starts to take form and makes sense and you get excited and wait for the height of the drama to unfold… then BAM!… you are the beginning of the next chapter way, way after everything played out. I mean really? Oh but don’t worry you get the cliff notes version of the events in 2 or 3 sentence. It was kind of disappointing and honestly a bit disappointing; also it left a hole in the plot for me. After not exploiting this whole thing to it full potential it felt like an unnecessary addition to the story. Thank god for the fantastic romance in it and the intense focus on it that kept the book in high position even without a detailed conflict situation.

One more thing that I was thinking about after finishing it is that that certain family curse was noticeably missing from the last two books, or maybe I just didn’t paid enough attention to the story?

This is funny, lovely, cute and really enjoyable read. It has that true ARR magic in it and definitely better than I expected.

You Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.