Review ‘The House of Hades’

Title: The house of Hades
Author: Rick Riordan
Series: The heroes of Olympus #4
Genres: Middle grade, Mythology, Fantasy
Add to Goodreads

At the conclusion of The Mark of Athena, Annabeth and Percy tumble into a pit leading straight to the Underworld. The other five demigods have to put aside their grief and follow Percy’s instructions to find the mortal side of the Doors of Death. If they can fight their way through the Gaea’s forces, and Percy and Annabeth can survive the House of Hades, then the Seven will be able to seal the Doors both sides and prevent the giants from raising Gaea. But, Leo wonders, if the Doors are sealed, how will Percy and Annabeth be able to escape?

They have no choice. If the demigods don’t succeed, Gaea’s armies will never die. They have no time. In about a month, the Romans will march on Camp Half-Blood. The stakes are higher than ever in this adventure that dives into the depths of Tartarus.

※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※

I think everybody knows something about the Percy Jackson series, if not the books then the movie adaptation. I love the original series and as soon as this one came out I started to read it. This one is a spin-off series and a lot of character reappears in it but basically we get to know a completely new formation in it.

The whole thing started with a prophecy about 7 demi-gods, their adventures and an epic guest. If I remember correctly this particular prophecy already turns up at the end of The last Olympian. These demi gods are Percy, Annabeth, Leo, Piper, Hazel, Frank and Jason but not all of them are from the Hal-Blood Camp. Turns out there is another camp for the kids of roman gods. These teenagers have to stop the awakening of Gaia and escape of the giants whom plan to destroy all of the existing gods.

House of Hades is the fourth book in this series start right where the Mark of Athena left of fin an unexpected and exciting way. Percy and Annabeth fight for their survival in Tartarus while their friends sailing through Europe in a breakneck speed to reach Epirus in time.

To be honest when I started this book I got a bit scared and for a good reason since the story is told in 7 different point of view and I usually have a hard time to enjoy the 2 POVs stories too. So what do i do with seven of them? Sure this way the author has a chance to write into the plot more action and adventurous event but for me it only messed up the storyline a bit. It doesn’t really leaves a chance to focus on the really important parts since it always changes point of view when things starts to heat up which in my opinion lessens the impact and breaks up the momentum and also makes it harder to relate to the characters. Maybe this is why I feel like the book is not as exciting and put together. I mean there is 7 POV in 3 different locations. The whole thing felt a bit scattered to me.

Despite this the author did it again. It’s amazing that even after 8 other books in the same topic he can come up with something new and enjoyable because lets be hones no matter how interesting the Roman and Greek mythology it’s not a bottomless well of new information. Yet Mr. Riordan can twist it in a way that it still feels new.

The narrative, the structure of the book and the characters are amazing. No matter how many new characters the author creates my favorite is still Percy. My only problem with the characters in this particular book that no matter how many extraordinary things they do when it’s time for their POV they all, and I mean all has a monologue where they throw a pity party about how they are the most inconsequential or good-for-nothing members of the team. Come on people you are the ones who are going to save the world. Have some confidence! But even with this they all go through a significant character development.

Unlike the previous books this one ends in a calmer ending but I still looking forward to the next and final book.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

