Top Ten Tuesday: Books with sensory reading memories

ttt

Hosted by That artsy reader girl.
The prompt for this week is the following:  Books with sensory reading memories. Well, my best guess about the direction of this prompt is that it is books where I can remember something where, when I was reading it, something like that. Strangely I have a lot these and I really enjoyed doing this prompt. Most of them relate to places or times because the smells or feelings related ones only come back when I actually smell that scent again or have the same feeling kind of dejavu like.
hr part 1

1. Thrive by Aly Martinez: I remember this one clearly because it was my first ARC I got from an author and not from NetGally. I was preparing for bed when it appeared on my kindle, it was around midnight and I instantly started to read it.

2. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire: This one is important and easy for different reasons. This was the very first contemporary story I read and while it is not particularly emotional or tear-inducing now, back then it was a surprise that a book could generate so many emotions in me. Anyway, I was in the middle of class, I think Hydraulics I., and I almost started to cry right then and there. Thank god, the professor didn’t notice.

3. Ghost town by Rachel Cain: Another one from my time in Uni. It was the last week before Christmas break and I was binge reading the Morganville vampires and I member reading this between classes sitting by the school Christmas tree.

4. Dark heir by Faith Hunter: I started to listen to this one as an audiobook because can’t stand the heat, so sunbathing is a troublesome thing for me. I thought if I listen to audiobooks, then I can turn off my brain and focus on the book instead of the heat and sweating and stuff. Well, I lasted all of 20 minutes but the book was good.

5. The artisan by Julie Reece: I read this book during my first ever plane ride and while the book was horrible it was the only thing I had with me at the time so I suffered through it because I cant sleep while traveling, not on planes, trains, buses, cars anything at all, it is just uncomfortable.

6. The mischievous Mrs. Maxfield by Ninya Tippet: I was reading this on Wattpad and I remember I was sitting from one corner of my room to the next every minute because Wattpad requires an internet connection and my wi-fi was horrible at the time. It was a frustrating and slow experience.

7. Voyager by Diana Gabaldon: I read fast but I don’t think I ever read as fast as I finished this book. I was in a mandatory camp, 4 days where we actually do the experiments we learn about during the year so it was busy from 7-18 which means I didn’t have much time to read, still I read it in two sitting before bed and it is a long ass book.

8. Craving Talon by Zoey Derrick: I usually read on the bus ride to school and back which means there was always somebody sitting beside me or standing there. I  was reading this book which is steamy as heck and the old lady sitting beside me was constantly peeking at my kindle. I mean I was reading in English so I don’t think she understood what it said but it was still annoying. I hate when they are trying to see what I’m doing on my kindle/tablet/phone.

I’m not going to list any more because the rest of them would be along the lines of these since I had the habit of reading during classes or in the bus in the way to school.

 

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books with sensory reading memories

  1. Ericka @ A Quiet Girl's Musings...

    What I remember most about Beautiful Disaster is how the story conjured up such strong memories and visuals of alma mater as I read it. Seriously, so much of the action of the book took place, in my mind, on the campus of Marshall University and as I read it, I sort of felt like I was back in college again. No other book has done that.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

You Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.