Viki’s review: Blood & bone by C.C. Wood

Chloe MacArthur has finally found her mate but he’s the one wolf she can’t have.

To save her heart from further pain, she leaves the pack that she’s come to consider her family. Unfortunately, unfinished business leads her back to her childhood home and straight into a deadly game with shifters that will do anything to prevent her from learning the truth.

Ian Lachlan is in mourning. Nearly two years ago, he lost his mate but, thanks to Chloe, he’s finally living again. When he wanted to give up and die, she saved him.

Now, Chloe is the one who needs help and Lachlan plans to return the favor. Intent on protecting her from her enemies, he follows Chloe and soon discovers that he wants far more from her than friendship. He wants everything she has to give.

But can either of them let go of the past long enough to reach for their future? 

Title: Blood & bone ( Blood & bone #1)
Author: C.C. Wood
Published: May 30th 2017
Genres: paranormal romance

My thoughts:

This was my read from C.C. Wood and I quickly realized that this story is pretty much the spin-off series or something like that for her Bitten series. This means there is not much of a world building in the book and it’s full of characters I should already know but honestly it didn’t bothered me at all and it was fully enjoyable like this too. But what mainly attracted me to the book were the synopsis and the possible emotional charge I expected from a story like this.

In the beginning of the book I wasn’t really satisfied with the writing style I thought it plain and a bit superficial but as the story progressed, it got better, still not perfect but better. I don’t think that the story fully utilize the possibilities the emotional front could have been but it still made my heart heavy at times and loved how the cheaters interacted and handled the situation.

Chloe is a strong, independent and bad ass she-wolf but as you read on you realize that she is also lonely, broken hearted and has a soft side. She had dreams that she thinks are never gonna be true. But she holds herself together and tries to concentrate on other important things. I loved how strong and vulnerable was she at the same time. How she is willing to sacrifice her own happiness if it means the one she loves can be happy.
Then there is Lachlan, who is completely fallen apart at the beginning of the story and it’s only thanks to Chloe that he is not dead yet. But then something happens and it sparks the life back into him. He is gentle and determined but has quite a few insensitive moves regarding Chloe. But overall I liked him even if he is slower to get with the program.
the chemistry is amazing between them and they have some wild romps and they are really understanding and caring with each other even if at the beginning its only on friendly levels. I liked them together and they are a pretty good couple.

As for the plot, well it’s interesting and eventful but somehow the romance part gets much more attention than the action part so I felt it a bit imbalanced. But there is a lot of fights and twist in the storyline to be exciting. Also it kinda made me want to read the original series too so maybe I’m going to do just that.

 

4 stars

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

