Viki’s review: Semi-charmed by Isabel Jordan

Psychic and paranormal PI Harper Hall isn’t that surprised when her business partner skips town. Really, she can’t help but feel it’s her own fault for trusting a guy named Romeo in the first place.

But if Harper wants to consult for the police on a high profile case, she’ll need a new partner– preferably one with some supernatural skills of his own. Enter Noah Riddick, a slayer left jobless by the legalization of vampirism.

Riddick’s dark secrets and shady past have forced him into exile from human society–an exile he was completely comfortable with until gorgeous and exasperating Harper waltzed into his life. Now, all too aware of how…unlifelike his life has truly been, he agrees to partner with her (as if saying no to Harper Hall was ever really an option).

Fighting vampires, making immortal enemies, engaging in semi-sadistic interrogation techniques, staging daring rescues…it’s all in a day’s work for this paranormal odd couple. But falling in love? Well…that’s a little trickier. Even for the Semi-Charmed Harper Hall.

Semi-Charmed is a full-length paranormal romance novel, completely free of cliffhangers, with a HEA. For readers 18+ only.

Title: Semi-charmed (Harper Hall Investigation #1)
Author: Isabel Jordan
Published: August 29th 2014 by Isabel Jordan
Genres: urban fantasy, paranormal romance

hr part 1

My thoughts:

I have this book on my shelves for a while no and I don’t even know why I waited this long to read it. Guess I forgot about it but the other day when I stumbled upon it I got really excited even so after I started to read it and realized how awesome the main character is. Unfortunately my excitement sizzled out around the middle of the story but let’s just go step by step.

The book starts out really strong thanks to Harper personality, attitude. She is so no nonsense, say at you see it, sassy and big mouthed that she instantly won me over. She is a psychic in a world where the supernatural exists and they basically pair up psychic and hunters to take care of the crimes committed by them. Unfortunately her partner left her high and dry but she decide she is able to do everything alone too. And to an extent she can take care of herself but as the story later proves she is too over confident, meddling and rushes into situations without thinking it through which ultimately causes a lot of problems and dangers not just for her but for everybody around her. And also the thing why I fall out of her halfway through. She is really kind hearted and understanding but sometimes acts a bit immature.

Noah on the other hand is the quintessential brooding hero. He is strong, talented but the people who thought him about his powers ingrained a certain amount of self hate into him. He thinks he is dangerous because they said he is essentially a psychopath. Because of this he tries to keep his distance from everybody and anybody but it’s a lonely existence. Lucky or unlucky for him Harper is not one to be easily swayed from something she wants. They are cute together and Noah brooding and levelheaded thinking balances out Harper crazy. They are great partners.

The writing style is not bad but not the best I ever encountered either. It easy to read, not too stuffy but at points I would say a bit discursive. My main problem was with the plot. I was expecting an investigation if some kind just based on the title of the series but there is not much too it. Its more like either falling into their laps or already known fact kind of thing that goes on. Also it defocused and ends entirely too quick for my liking. And here I don’t mean the length of the book but how much actual action goes on regarding the main storyline compared to other les important things in the book.
Also the world building is not quite there yet. The author had a lot of interesting ideas but I personally require more information regarding the supernatural world she pictured than she provided in here.

Its an okay read especially for a first book in the series, I liked it but if I’m going to continue it needs to improve. There were a lot of funny moments in it thanks to Harper crazy way but my personal favorite was when she took Noah home to introduce him to the family. Let’s just say Harper is not the only less than sane in her family.

3 stars

 

 

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

