Viki’s review: The brightest sunset by Aly Martinez

Sticks and stones will break my bones, but words will never harm me.
Bullshit.
Words destroyed me.
“I’m sorry. She didn’t make it.”
“Daddy, he can’t breathe!”
“There’s nothing more we can do for your son.”
Sticks and stones will break my bones, but words will never harm me.
Lies.
Those syllables and letters became my executioner. I told myself that, if I didn’t acknowledge the pain and the fear, they would have no power over me. But, as the years passed, the hate and the anger left behind began to control me.
Two words—that was all it took to plunge my life into darkness.
“He’s gone.”
In the end, it was four soft, silky words that gave me hope of another sunrise.
“Hi. I’m Charlotte Mills.”

Title: The brightest sunset (The darkest sunrise duet #2)
Author: Aly Martinez
Published: July 27th 2017
Genres: contemporary romance,  drama

hr part 1

My thoughts:

The first book I didn’t like as much as I usually like the author books but this one I absolutely loved. I liked the plot a lot better and the emotions come through much better in this book. The whole time was reading it my heart was breaking bit by bit. Unfortunately still couldn’t give it 5 stars because I really didn’t like Charlotte character.

So the story starts pretty much as I expected. Charlotte is freaking out and turning on Porter. The writing is spectacularly delivers the emotional charge a story like this needs to generate in a person, especially in the first third of the book because there it’s really intense. Basically the whole duet presents an impossible situation where the characters trying to find the best possible solution. It’s a pretty beautiful and emotional read, told from dual point of view which helped to understand both sides of the plot. Where I tried to sympathize with Porter and Charlotte as well my heart pulled me on Porter side.

For me even in the first book it was Charlotte overdramatized actions that dragged it down. She went into extremes when it comes to Lucas or kids in general even after 10 years and it spins out of control after finding the little boy. She is really passive- aggressive and took half a book to start to consider how tearing that boy out of his only known family will affect him and not just focusing on her getting her son back. And don’t even get me started on Brady and Tom. Also it bothered me that she rather believed the worst about Porter than judge him by the things she knows about him.
I felt for Porter but he has quite a few reckless decisions too.

Fortunately the book ended with a happy ending for everybody and after the emotional roller coaster the story took us that’s the only thing that matters. I really liked this book.

4 stars

 

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

