Viki’s review: Pack ebon red by C.M. Stunich

 I am wolf; I am human; I am neither; I am both.
I am werewolf.

And I have seven Alpha Males as my mates.
All mine to kiss and hold and touch, seven handsome men for my bed.
My boys represent the biggest packs in North America.
But I am the Alpha Female and I rule them all.

One day, the packs might force me to choose.
But my heart, it won’t allow it. Things could get…bloody if I have to fight for my boys.
For now, three glittering dark courts threaten our existence with their glamorous cruelty:
the vampires, the witches, and the fae.

Werewolves are missing from all the packs, and my boys and I, we have to find them.
Or find out who’s killing them.
Because I’m the mistress of my men, my packs, a girl known simply as White Wolf.
I’ve promised to protect the men I love, the family and friends I cherish.
And the White Wolf…always keeps her promises.

Title: Pack ebon red (The seven mates of Zara Wolf #1)
Author: C.M. Stunich
Published: June 30th 2017 by Sarian Royal
Genres: Paranormal romance, adult


My thoughts:

I read a couple of books from the author and I really liked them but none of them was any kind of fantasy or paranormal in genre wise. So I was quite intrigued when I found out about this book. But the fact that its reverse harem and about shapeshifters helped a lot too.  Which means, when it arrived on my tablet I started it immediately.

The story was not exactly what I was expecting because the title of the series and the synopsis lead me to a slight misconception of the story. It’ probably my fault, misinterpreting the synopsis but when I read mates I assumed it’s the usual soul mate thingy when it comes to shapeshifters. In this case, at this point it’s more like prospective fiancés than the other. But the book is still really good.

The author created quite a unique structure to her supernatural factions. Especially for the werewolves since they are in the focus. But let me state this, the workings and the hierarchy of the packs has some really raw and brutal elements to it and entirely to stick in the past. It was really frustrating even for me so imagine how frustrating it was for the characters. But if I think about it the way they work in this book, it’s reflects more of the actual wolf packs than in the usual werewolf stories. I liked the change.

I kike C.M. Stunich writing style in general but in this book it was a bit different than her contemporary books. Not exactly in a bad way but it’s not as polished. There is a lot of repeating when it comes to important information and I get why she did it this way it still left a strange impression. Also I think that the better part of the writing the plot is a bit heavy and busy, not as dynamic as it could be.  The fact that the whole book pays way to much attention to the ceremonial aspect of things doesn’t help either. Because honestly there is a lot of things going on that could be more in focus than the little steps and rules regarding the mating ritual. But it’s just my opinion.

The main character Zara is a kick ass but in a subtle way. She has a hard time because she has a more modern way of looking at things but at the same time she can’t afford to disrespect the old rules and honestly she doesn’t want to until she can determine which one of those are really necessary. I admired her, how she could stay the kind hearted but strong girl among the brutal and violent circumstances she grew up in. On the other hand she tales too much upon herself which doesn’t leave time or place for her to really consider her options or just to settle into her new life. Her feelings for one particular prospect among the boys make the whole pairing situation even more awkward and confusing for her than it actually would be. It is a kink in her well calculated plans. But her heart is in the right place she just has to work through her problems one at a time.
Unfortunately about the boys we don’t really get to know too much. Well expect their names, appearance and a general, brief impression of their personalities.  Regarding their appearance, the colorful combination of eye and hair color and the reverse harem genre kind of reminded me of the animes I watched a while back.  I like most of them, but don’t really know what to think yet. So far my favorites are Che and Montgomery, maybe Silas too but it’s too early to make a final verdict. Anyway I can’t wait to see the fan art that hopefully some artistically gifted readers will create for this book.

A lot of thing happen in the story, maybe a bit too much but it still feels like it’s slow going since nothing gets too much attention. Things just keep adding to the ever growing pile of problems Zara and her boys has to solve. But I see why the slower pace since I assume by the title that there are going to be 7 books in the series, maybe? Then it’s better to stretch out things. I have high hopes for the next book and really happy that I only have to wait a couple of months for it.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

