Viki’s review: Wrecked by Jeannine Colette

 Take one sexy bartender. Add a badass cop. A splash of sweet, that’s me. One sour, that’s him… and serve over ice.

That’s how you’ll get to my current situation.

You know the girl – the one who commands the scene, bottle of liquor in hand, pouring liquid fire into the willing throats of patrons as they let loose at the local bar?

That’s me. Leah Marie Paige.

I may be known as the town party girl, but in reality I’m this close to my dream of opening my own bar – McConaugheys. Yes, it will be named after the acclaimed actor. What can I say? I’m a sucker for that sexy Texan.

Everything was going as planned until the night I had a few drinks and accepted a ride home from a friend. A misunderstanding leads to an arrest, and now I’m at the mercy of the one man I can’t stand, and trust me, the feeling is definitely mutual.

Adam Reingold is six-feet-tall and built like a stallion — the man is the epitome of male. He also happens to be the town narc and hates my guts. There’s a story to our past and it’s not a pretty one.

So, now, here I am, chained to him for the summer like a hardened criminal, doing whatever he tells me to do. Problem is, I can’t help but look at him when he’s not watching and wonder what our future could be like if things were different.

There are so many reasons why he’s all wrong for me. Even more reasons why I need to stay away from him.

It’s a cocktail of trouble. Best served shaken, not stirred.

Title: Wrecked
Author: Jeannine Colette
Published: June 21st 2017
Genres: contemporary romance, new adult


My thoughts:

I found this book thanks to an expert I read on one of my favorite book blog. Based on that expert I expected a great and dynamic story. I didn’t get exactly that and I don’t really have anything big against the book I just didn’t love it, something was missing for me.

This story is basically about forgiveness, healing and moving on even if at first glance you wouldn’t be able to determine this. It takes a bit of a reading to see the real story behind the plot and it’s a point for the writing style because it makes the story quite interesting. The plot is quite emotional but progresses really slowly and drags quite a bit. There is a lot of added drama that is unnecessary regarding the main storyline. There were a couple of chapters that I found downright boring but not as much so I would title the whole book as boring.

Leah character is a strange one and really complex. She has a lot of contradicting qualities but she is probably one of the most authentic characters I read about so far. Because let’s be honest you can’t describe anybody with one characteristic everybody has a multilayered personality. At first glance Leah is a shallow, party girl who doesn’t care about much other than her appearance perhaps.  When in reality she is not just this, she is smart, good with her hands and a really savvy business ‘owner’. She has a big heart and a lot of good ideas but she likes to project the shallow party girl persona. I just couldn’t tolerate her whining that nobody knows the real her. Come on if you don’t show it to anybody how they should know you?? So yeah I just couldn’t connect with her.
Then there is Adam who is drowning in guilt and kind of punishing himself for something he didn’t have any control off. But alongside with Leah, he also starts a journey of healing. But it is a long and torturous journey where his hot and cold demeanor plays a center role. However the connection between them is stronger than anything else they ever encountered and after a couple of misunderstandings and a few missteps later they get onto the right path.

Wrecked is not a bad book it’s just not for me.

 

 

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

