Viki’ review: Persuasion by Jane Washington & Jaymin Eve

Willa Knight: Dweller? Bad-ass? Notorious pet to five magical beings?

In Blesswood, there are rules, and someone is trying to teach her how to follow them. The only problem is Willa. Which shouldn’t be anything new, since she has been a problem since birth – something her pseudo-sister Emmy would agree on.

So it definitely shouldn’t be new … but it is.

Because things are starting to happen that have never happened before.

Things are starting to get … chaotic.

Title: Persuasion (Curse of the gods #2)
Author: Jane Washington & Jaymin Eve
Published: May 30th 2017
Genres: new adult, mythology, fantasy


My thoughts:

Trickery was in the top 5 books I read so far in 2017 so I was really looking forward to this one too. Because I couldn’t picture anything better than a little bit more of Willa and her boys. Unfortunately, it was quite a big disappointment at least for me. I don’t know why but the story just falls short for me.

It’s really strange because I would expect to like this story better since there are a lot of things going on. The storyline is moving on, we get to know a lot of new characters, some reasons behind Willa specialness and the motivation behind the actions of the gods. Also the world gets a couple of extra layers to it. But all of it just gets overpowered by the whole klutz and airhead Willa phenomena. And the thing is that I loved the first book just because of Willa overpowering and funny personality. However in this case it went a touch overboard, it wasn’t as funny as the authors intended it to be, a touch too ridiculous and took the whole pyramid of story down.

Then I think the characters suffered a bit too. Yes the story is character driven and not plot driven but the character who holds the story up is Willa. But that doesn’t mean that you don’t need other deeply developed characters. Unfortunately in this case even the characters whom got a bigger role in the first book, namely the Abcurse brothers got pushed into the background. This also led to the fact that I was missing the camaraderie between the main characters I loved so much.
As for Willa she is her usual self just a bit more scattered and unfocused. She kind of stretched the story to thin for me. Any time something important came up she suddenly found something else trivial to concentrate on and since we see the story from her point of view it also means that our attention is diverted too.

If you sort through the information provided in this story you can understand a lot of behind the events. Some of the big revelations is a bit predictable and some paint a clear picture about where the story is heading.

I didn’t love this story but it wasn’t horrible and I definitely going to read the next one in the series. I’m really curious how Willa will fight the changes standing in her way. There is a particular part of the story I didn’t like at all and think was a bit unnecessary to include but it got squashed quickly so it won’t be a problem in the future.

 

“I mean how can he just materialize stuff like that? And how can you materialize stuff like that? It’s been at the back of my mind for a while, but I usually ignore the back of my mind because I don’t like nasty surprises and that’s what it always gives me—”

 

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

