2 stars, Viki's review

Viki’s review: Nico by Sarah Castille

 Las Vegas Mafia boss, Nico Toscani, is used to getting what he wants, whether it is having the City of Sin under his rule or a beautiful woman in his bed. But when he meets his match in the gorgeous, headstrong Mia Cordano, the daughter of a rival crime lord, all bets are off. . .

Sexy computer hacker, Mia, struggles to break free of her ruthless father’s Mafia ties…but she can’t resist the powerful and seductive Nico, who will stop at nothing to possess her. With their families locked in a brutal war for control of the city, Mia and Nico enter into a forbidden game. Will they surrender to the passion that burns between them—and risk tearing apart their families? Or will Nico be forced to betray the only woman who sets his blood on fire?

Title: Nico (Ruin & Revnge #1)
Author: Sarah Castille
Published: December 6th 2016 by St. Martin’s Paperbacks
Genres: contemporary romance, new adult


My thoughts:

This was my first read from the author despite the fact that I have the complet Sinner’s tribe motorcycle club series from her. I choose to start with this because I only read great reviews about it. Unfortunately this one is a definite miss for me because I didn’t enjoy it at all.

I expected so much more from this not just because of the reviews I read but because based on the synopsis I hoped for a better story. Really I can’t exactly tell you where it went sideways for me. The writing style is great and smooth so not there. Even the characters sounded interesting at the beginning because the author created quite an extensive and phenomenal background for them but the story just sizzled out real quick.

I wasn’t satisfied how the characters background or capabilities were used in regards of the story. They just not fleshed out for me. None of the characters are developed for their fullest potential and some of the secondary ones are even feel shallow.  And since it’s told from multiple points of views I would hope for a better execution. Personally I think the most interesting character, side story, belonged to the undercover cop. I saw the most possibilities in his story.
As for the main characters a hoped a lot more for Mia, since she described as a rebel, master hacker, mafia princess and really her character is nowhere a badass as I thought she would be. Most of the things she does are the result of a false bravado but in reality she lets herself constantly roped back into a life she wants to escape. She is resistant and strong in some aspects but nearly not enough. Her relationship with Nico is a whirlwind and throws the plot a bit off balance.

The plot is really predictable and for me it was boring and dragging through almost the full book.  There was one emotional moment in the whole story that moved me and I hoped that the book is going to be better from that point on.  Unfortunately, it didn’t get better and my hope got quashed real quickly.

I love mafia romances but I didn’t like this book at all so I probably won’t read the next in this series but I still give it 2 stars because the writing style is flowing and quick my problem was with the plot itself.

 

You Leave a Comment

