2 stars, Viki's review

Viki’s review: Shadow game by Christine Feehan

The classified experiment is the brainchild of renowned scientist Peter Whitney and his brilliant daughter, Lily. Created to enhance the psychic abilities of an elite squadron, it can transform their natural mental powers into a unique military weapon. But something goes wrong. In the isolated underground labs, the men have been dying-victims of bizarre accidents. Captain Ryland Miller knows he is next. When Dr. Whitney himself is murdered, Ryland has only one person left to trust: the beautiful Lily. Possessed of an uncanny sixth sense herself, Lily shares Ryland’s every new fear, every betrayal, every growing suspicion, and every passionate beat of the heart. Together, they will be drawn deeper into the labyrinth of her father’s past and closer to a secret that someone would kill to keep hidden.

Title: Shadow game (GhostWalkers #1)
Author: Christine Feehan
Published: Auguts 26th 2003 by Jove
Genres: Paranormal romance, fantasy


My thoughts:

This book is not typically something I read but lately since my favorite paranormal romance and urban fantasy series are nearing their end I trying to broaden my horizon. Alas trying to look for series I would like, be this something just recently published or something I simply overlooked in the past. That’s how I found this book. I never read anything from this author before but the synopsis sounded really great. Unfortunately I didn’t like it as much as I hoped for but it worth the try. There are things I liked and things I didn’t like in it.

What I liked:

  1. I think the premise of this story is a really great idea with the whole scientifically enhanced military unit whom posses supernatural abilities. There is a lot of potential in it and I really enjoyed reading about the different talents.
  2. I really liked the members of the team. One of the best parts of the book for me was when each member got a brief introduction. They all sound interesting and I looking forward their individual stories especially Nico’s and Gator’s.

What I didn’t like:

  1. I think that my main issue with the story was that the plot is really unbalanced. I mean there are a lot of things going on in it but the actual action, events pushed into the background and the romance or more like the erotica part gets so much more attention. It’s like 5 pages of plot then 20-30 pages foreplay, sex scenes and so on. I’m the first one who will admit that I require a little romance for my fantasy but this is a bit too much. Where is the balance?
  2. The insta love, I hate insta love and it was so not well founded in this case. I mean it doesn’t just come out of the blue but I personally didn’t really see the attraction between the main couple so to speak. This leads to really strong disbelief when they are talking about marriage and kids after a 5 minute meeting.
  3. The description of some scenes is really messy. We are talking about a trained military group so you would expect some fights but most of it happens in the background and the ones that aren’t are impossible to follow. I didn’t know what’s going on.
  4. The conspiracy itself is really unbelievable on itself and when you put this with the fact that a slightly socially awkward and closed off scientist figures it out alone without any clue or proof then you got the story.
  5. The conversations kept circling around the same topic again and again. They didn’t move on with the plot but kept going back for the same issues. It annoyed me a bit.
  6. Also Lily personality wasn’t my favorite.

I know based on the list it’s strongly goes into the negative and unfortunately it did. I had a couple of chapters I greatly enjoyed but other than those this book was pure suffering. However I probably going to give a try for at least the next book in the series because I really love the idea behind the series and I loved the other boys in the unit. hopefully it gets a bit better.

 

 

 

You Leave a Comment

