Viki’s review: Dear Aaron by Marina Zapata

Ruby Santos knew exactly what she was getting herself into when she signed up to write a soldier overseas.
The guidelines were simple: one letter or email a week for the length of his or her deployment. Care packages were optional.
Been there, done that. She thought she knew what to expect.
What she didn’t count on was falling in love with the guy.

Title: Dear Aaron
Author: Mariana Zapata
Published: June 10th 2017
Genres: contemporary romance


My thoughts:

OMG! I absolutely loved this book. It was something phenomenal.  Mariana Zapata is really good at writing slow burn romances and since it’s not my favorite thing her books usually a hit or miss with me. I read a couple of books from her and they are either 2 or 5 nothing in between. I was a bit reluctant to start it because my last read from her wasn’t a good one but then I read a great review about it and decided to try. Thank God I did.

This is a slow burn romance all right, a beautiful story with loveable and interesting characters. But what topped the cake for me was the unique writing style. The first half or more of the book consists of letters, emails and messages between the two characters. It’s not a usual approach to start a story but in my opinion it was just perfect. It’s easy and quick to read, gets to the vital points, presents the personality of the characters without any kind of added drama and even gives a sneak peek into their family’s life. I just loved to read it. Yes it has a couple of flaws in it to, like the fact that the emotional impact is not as big as with the usual writing style but the benefits way outweigh this.
After around half of the book the writing style switches to normal format and it took me for a while to get used to it after the airy, light atmosphere the beginning of the book created. At first I even felt like the story suddenly became a bit stuffy but after one or two chapters I got used to it.

As for the characters I adored them to pieces. They both are great and have interesting background. Ruby especially has an extensive and diverse family and they provided quite a topic for her and Aaron. Ruby and Aaron just click from the first moment and it helps that they create a fantastic and honest friendship before they even think about any kind of romantic relationship.  They were so cute together; they connected on a lot of different levels and became each other best friends and confidants.

The only thing why I can’t give the book a perfect score is the fact that after a 300 and so pages of getting to know them and their flirting I would have loved to know a bit more about their relationship. I loved to see them more when they were together, the epilogue wasn’t nearly enough. Other than this I think this book is perfect. Maybe it could have been better with a regularly written storyline, because it can be more fleshed out on a lot of different levels but I still think that this particular story is best done this way.

 

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

1 thought on “Viki’s review: Dear Aaron by Marina Zapata”

You Leave a Comment

