Review ‘ Changing course’

I met Sarah Kate Erickson when I was twenty-one years old. I was lucky enough to keep her for seven years before a tragic accident stole her from me. She didn’t die, but sometimes I think it would have been easier if she had.

I lived in a haze for those four years after the accident. Catering to her every need, even though she hated the very sight of my face. I tried to hold on to her and the future that we were supposed to build together. But you can’t hold on to someone who doesn’t exist anymore.

It wasn’t until I met Jesse Addison, a barista at the local coffee shop, that I realized I didn’t just lose Sarah that tragic night, I lost myself as well. Jesse taught me how to let go of the past and learn to love again. But what happens when your past haunts your present, and the woman you used to love refuses to accept the woman you can’t live without?

Title: Changing course (Wrecked and ruined #1)
Author: Aly Martinez
Published: January 29th 2014
Genres: Contemporary romance


My thoughts:

This book was waiting in his lonely self on my bookshelf for quite a long time before I got to it.  This had a couple of reasons. First I wasn’t sure how the whole plot was going to go based on the synopsis and in all honesty I was a bit reluctant to start it because of my fears regarding the storyline and since I didn’t read anything from the author before this book I needed to gather my thoughts before starting it. Then I read Singed and that one sealed the deal for me.

Luckily the plot didn’t go in the direction I was afraid of but still had a lot of surprising twist and quit a few secrets in it, so the drama and the angst was provided plentiful. The author writing style is something phenomenal. She has a clean, easily readable stroke but she weaves the drama and angst, the feeling into it seamlessly. It’s an experience to read it but doesn’t overwhelms you when at the same time generates strong emotions inside you. I loved it. Also there is a quite misdirecting but at the same time brilliant solution towards the end of the story which shakes up things a bit.

Jesse is a really down to earth, honest, caring, forgiving and patient character and all together cute. I felt such a frustration and unfairness in her stead, because the storyline is quite like that toward her. I liked her ability to adjust to the not even remotely usual situation in order to get her happy ever after. But in my opinion she lets Brett get away with too much, she is too lenient with him because she really wants the relationship.
Brett is struggling through the whole book, he can’t move on and can’t let go. In one light it’s remarkable what he does for Sarah but at the same time he not just self destructs but enables Sarah and slowly destroys everybody around himself. I’m conflicted regarding his character. I liked his values, felt for him and his struggles but he had a lot of bad moves and hurt Jesse quite a lot with them. Their relationship, if you take away all the drama that comes with Sarah, is really cute, steamy and tight. I really liked them together.

I didn’t like Sarah even she was sane because she was shallow and she cleverly used Brett even then, but after the accident she simply became a vile and manipulative bitch. Sorry but I couldn’t sympathize with her no matter her hardships. I think there is more behind the accident but it didn’t come to light yet. That’s the only interesting part about her messed up character.

The story is not at all as heartbreaking as I expected or as the author indented to be I think, but I still really enjoyed and it also frustrated me all to hell. I’m going to read the next book for sure but Sarah story is still a ‘what if’ for me. I’m not sure I want to or even capable to like her.

 

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

