Viki’s review: Black dawn by Mallory McCartney

The end of an Empire, The rise of a Queen

Emory Fae enjoys leading a quiet, normal life. That is until two mysterious, and handsome soldiers show up at her apartment, and the life she knew is instantly whisked away. Memphis Carter and Brokk Foster come from the magical and war ridden world of Kiero, and upon Emory’s arrival she will discover she is the long lost heir to the Royal Line and is thrown into the Black Dawn Rebellion with a dynamic role to ignite the rebels and reclaim her throne.

With both men being darkly woven in her past Emory uncovers hidden secrets, a power held long dormant, and will soon realize there are worse things than supernatural humans, love, loss, betrayal, and a Mad King.

Some things are better left in the shadows.

Title: Black dawn
Author: Mallory McCartney
Published: February 14th  2017 by Clean Read Publishing
Genres: young adult, fantasy, romance


My thoughts:

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review.

I was eyeing this book for a while because it has such a beautiful cover and even the synopsis is great but it’s only 180 pages so I was a bit reluctant. But I was really happy when I received it from NetGalley.

I started to read it as soon as I got the time and I ate through it really quickly. I enjoyed it but it wasn’t my favorite. The story itself is categorized as a NA book but I would rater put it into the YA category because apart from the characters being in their 20s there is nothing that would suggest it. It’s clean and more along the lines of a YA story.
Plot is really, really, super fast paced. I mean the main character gets dropped into a whole new and unknown world for her then with a magical moment she suddenly remember everything and things get even more rapid. And the changing between points of views doesn’t help with this situation. The whole plot is quite confusing and hard to follow.  At the beginning it is also heavy with the world building and descriptions. So between the fast storyline, the jumping between point of views without rhyme or reason and the world building it took me for a while to get into the story. And when things started to clear out and I started to really enjoy the book it was nearing the end since it’s on the shorter side. Around the end the storyline took a brilliant turn but I feel that it was really rushed.

The characters are really interesting and I loved how none of them are purely on the good or on the bad side of things. They all represented both sides and had quite complex personalities. Emory is strong and resistant character, who gets into the thick of things without thinking. Then there are Memphis and Brock her ‘protectors’ and friends. They were both different and liked them. The author did really well when it comes to character development. Although I fear the possibility of a love triangle but it’s not there yet.

This book has a lot of good elements to it I just wish it was a bit longer or the storyline a bit more sedate so it didn’t felt so tight. The author wanted to condense too much into 180 pages and the story suffered a bit because of this. However I’m curious about the next book because the ending was brilliant.

 

 

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

