Viki’s review: Nemesis by Anna Banks

 Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee his grasp. She escapes across enemy lines into the kingdom of Theoria, but her plans to hide are thwarted when she is captured and placed in the young king’s servitude.

Tarik has just taken over rulership of Theoria, and must now face a new plague sweeping through his kingdom and killing his citizens. The last thing he needs is a troublesome servant vying for his attention. But Mistress Sepora will not be ignored. When the two finally meet face-to-face, they form an unlikely bond that complicates life in ways neither of them could have imagined.

Sepora’s gift may be able to save Tarik’s kingdom. But should she risk exposing herself and her growing feelings for her nemesis?

Title: Nemesis ( Nemesis #1)
Author: Anna Banks
Published: October 4th 2016 by Feiwel & Friends
Genres: high fantasy, romance, young adult


My thoughts:

Somehow, unintentionally I picked up three books in a row about runaway princesses but this one the first among them that I truly enjoyed and loved. I’m not really surprised because Anna Banks has a really great style and I loved everything from her so far.  The cover thought is an enigma for me when it first got revealed I was in love with it but the longer it sits on my shelf the less I like it, it’s a bit creepy but still better than the alternative version.

The world building is interesting and well developed. The story takes place in Theoria one of the five kingdoms. It’s a technologically advanced kingdom and basically similar to the ancient Egyptian empire. But the main character Sepora is from a different kingdom which is more primitive and barbaric in beliefs which causes a friction between kingdoms.

The plot is really enjoyable and easy to read. It flows beautifully and fluidly and a lot of things happen in it but I was constantly waiting for something more impactful to happen. Basically the whole book revolved around the rumored war and the preparations around it but in the end nothing comes off it. It was a bit of a disappointment and the reasons behind the half star reduce but I’m interested what will happen in the future book/s.

There are quite a few characters in the story but we mostly get to know the two main characters. They have a lot of common traits but also a lot different.
Sepora, the known Forger in her kingdom and the daughter of the king runs away from her abuse and in order to prevent a war. Finally a princess that runs away in order to save people and not just because it’s struck her fancy. I really liked her. She is smart, level headed and has a good heart. She is not all knowing since her education is restricted to the little and biased information her kingdom has about other kingdoms but she quickly realizes this and starts to ask questions and learn. She has a lot of great ideas and a big heart but at the same time she is sassy and fierce. Technically she is really lucky with her predicament in the palace. She wants to save people but not at the cost of others so she stays strong about her decisions and her loyalty is still there for her own people too. She has a hard time at trusting people.
Tarik becomes a pharaoh earlier than he was ready for it. But he is a good ruler even if he liked to live a more simple life. He is just and funny. His relationship with Sepora form quickly but it lacks the necessary trust. His wishes for himself clash with his duty and painfully but he chooses his people over his happiness. I liked the effortless relationship between the main characters even if I knew it’s a hopeless thing/ or not.

It’s emotional, sweet and intriguing. I enjoyed it immensely and can’t wait for the next books since a lot of things left open at the end, waiting for solution. The sickness, the war and I have a suspicion about Rashidi, too.

 

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

