Viki’s Review: ‘Left Behind’ by Vi Keeland, Dylan Scott

Two stories so deeply intertwined, you’ll think you know how they intersect… but you’ll be wrong… Zack Martin: The day I met Emily Bennett my whole world changed. Sure, we were just kids, but I was old enough to know my life would never be the same. She was my best friend. My destiny. My fate. I wasn’t wrong…I just didn’t know how twisted fate could be. Nikki Fallon: After the death of my mother, moving from my dark and dreary trailer park to sunny California, I was focused on one thing – finding a sister I’d only just learned existed. Falling in love with him wasn’t part of the plan. But he filled a void I never knew was possible to fill. He had to be my fate. My destiny. Until the day I finally found out who my sister was… and how twisted fate could be.

Title: Left Behind
Author: Vi Keeland, Dylan Scott
Published: October 14th 2014 by Vi Keeland, Dylan Scott
Genres: contemporary romance, new adult


My thoughts:

Left behind is a standalone YA contemporary from Vi Keeland and Dylan Scott. I honestly didn’t know what to expect going into the story. I read a lot of books from Vi Keeland and love her style but none of them was YA so it was kind of a new territory for her. Also lately I have a harder time reading YA so there was that to. Despite all of this I enjoyed the story quite a bit.

This is a beautiful eye opening and emotional tale of two young people whom fall in love with each other then realize how their fate was entwined way before they met in person. I’m not a sentimental person but this story moved me.

Nikki had a hard childhood thanks to her mother illness, but she doesn’t complain, she cherishes the little happy moments and enjoys the hand life dealt for her. I liked her from the very first scene, she is really strong.  But then something happened that shakes up her already rocky world. Grieving and hurt she still fights to stay out of the foster system and to uncover truths her mother hid from her all her life. She is determined to find the answers she seeks and at the same time to build a new life for herself.

Zach is the typical all American, star athlete, beautiful boy from next door. He had a perfect childhood and he is grateful for it but the he also goes through something that changes his life completely and he starts to question his actions. I liked him to he was honest, caring and real. His connection with Nikki is instant but they start slow and build upon a well founded friendship. They understand each other and help each other move on.

The story is told from dual POV so we can follow both of the characters story more deeply to get an understanding of them. The plot is full of secrets, some of the less complicated and impactful as I expected and I think a couple of things are left unresolved but the story is still enjoyable. It’s sweet and romantic and beautiful but a bit slow for my taste.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

