3 stars, Viki's review

Viki’s Review: ‘Dead and Kicking’ by Lisa Emme

What’s a girl to do when her date is D.O.A? Angharad ‘Harry’ Russo is just your ordinary twenty-something, with one exception – she’s a witch with an out of the ordinary gift. When her blind date goes sideways and she ends up face to face with a dead body, her life starts to go sideways too. Harry soon finds herself right in the middle of the mayhem, dealing with Cian Nash, a homicide detective that is as aggravating as he is sexy; the biggest, baddest vampire in town; and a parcel of pesky zombies that keep popping up everywhere. It’s all connected to her date’s unfortunate demise, or is there more to it than meets the eye?

Title: Dead and Kicking (The Harry Russo Diaries #1)
Author: Lisa Emme
Published: October 2nd 2015 by Lisa Emme
Genres: paranormal romance, shapeshifters, vampires, fairies


My Thoughts

Lately I’m getting worried because almost all of my favorite paranormal romance and urban fantasy series are nearing their end or already ended. It wouldn’t be a problem if the new stuff or with better worlds the lack of new stuff wouldn’t be so underwhelming and some of them even bad. During one of my musings like this I came across this series and perked up a bit because based on the synopsis this sounded good. I got my hopes up.

In the very beginning I even enjoyed it quite a bit so my excitement level went up a notch. It starts out funny, light and promising but as the plotline progressed, my mood took a nosedive. The writing style is not bad but have place to develop. The stories was easy to read and even to get into but the main character and later in the story even the plot is lacking.

The world building is great I think but not detailed or accurately describe so you have to dive really deep to connect the dots. I liked how the supernatural are in hiding, supposedly even from each other. All of the factions are their own little tight knit group, but then as it turns out not everything is as secret as they think. There are a lot of funny moments based on this fact and I enjoyed their realizations. Also there I felt the influence of a lot of TV shows and books on the structure and the story of this particular book, but not in the negative. Little bits of information’s are incorporated the basis of the storyline seamlessly and it didn’t bother me at all, I enjoyed it even.

The plot unfortunately takes a back seat, it’s only superficially worked out and it was a shame because it could have been a great, action packed and interesting tale. But the characters sailed through the hard stuff and everything happened so fast. There are a couple of dark spots between actual scenes, like a lot of things happen in the background and it made it hard to follow the storyline and confused me a bit. Also since it is a short book and the author wanted to put a lot of things into it I found the final conclusion not just rushed but pretty anticlimactic, too.

The main character, Harry, sounded really interesting in the beginning. She is funny but as things go on her personality, attitude started to greet on my nerves. First her denial and playing ignorant to quit obvious fact especially about herself and her powers started to drag down the story. She is also a bit careless, aloof, slow to catch up and have a lot of petulant moments to herself. Then there is her relationship with Nash. I liked that there wasn’t love at first sight that their connection was biting and prickly but there came the point when her reaction toward Nash became nasty and ungrateful. I didn’t like that. She has to grow up a bit before I can say that she is a great lead character.
As for the other characters they all seem interesting but I liked to know more about them before judging them.

The book was light and funny, but not silly. It was a quick read which I enjoyed and in which I see the potential but it’s not there yet. I don’t regret that I read the story but didn’t fulfill the expectations I built up for it.

 

You Leave a Comment

