Viki’s Review: ‘White Hot’ by Ilona Andrews

 Nevada Baylor has a unique and secret skill—she knows when people are lying—and she’s used that magic (along with plain, hard work) to keep her colorful and close-knit family’s detective agency afloat. But her new case pits her against the shadowy forces that almost destroyed the city of Houston once before, bringing Nevada back into contact with Connor “Mad” Rogan. Rogan is a billionaire Prime—the highest rank of magic user—and as unreadable as ever, despite Nevada’s “talent.” But there’s no hiding the sparks between them. Now that the stakes are even higher, both professionally and personally, and their foes are unimaginably powerful, Rogan and Nevada will find that nothing burns like ice…

Title: White Hot (Hidden Legacy #2)
Author: Ilona Andrews
Published: May 30th 2017 by Avon
Genres: urban fantasy, paranormal romance, adult, magic


My thoughts:

I can’t even express it with just a couple of words how much I waited for this story and almost over 3 years. Since I’m a hard core Ilona Andrews fan, was even before the first book in the series came out, I read Burn for me a week after it came out. Which means the suspense was slowly killing me since then. But finally it here and the next one is coming in a couple of months. But hey the wait worth it because the book once again a success in my book. I loved it so much.

I’m not really going to rave much about the writing style because we all know that the author duo is on the top of their game in that department. What I think I need to mention that their stories just get better and better over time. As it was true about this book, too.  They already started with a phenomenal world building and idea in the first book but they have a way with developing the plot more and more with every book. Slowly we get a better and deeper understanding of world. I just love Ilona Andrews work.
My only problem with the book was essential caused by the fact that I read the previous one 3 years ago and it took me quite a while to remember certain details, names and such. It caused me a bit of a struggle with the plot at the beginning but I got over that quick.

The story essentially starts a couple of months after the events in Burn for me and Nevada finds herself in a bind once more. I like her; she is feisty and strong, caring and clever also in a completely different way than it’s used to from the authors. She is a new spin on the badass and outstanding female protagonist, a bit softer but phenomenal nonetheless. She runs into fights without thinking and involves herself in others problems but out of concern for the well-being of others. But she has a problem when it comes to letting others care for her especially when that someone is Rogan. And she struggles with this not only because of her independence but her growing feelings towards the man.  Also her gifts starts to show more but I still think that there is a lot in the dark regarding this and as it turns out her ancestry as well.
Rogan is still his intense and bossy self but in this book we also get to witness his other sides. He is strong and powerful in a lot of different ways but in White hot we learn that it’s mainly just a front and out of necessity to protect the ones he care about. Also we learn a lot about his past and what made him so guarded. But at the same time when he is with Nevada and her family he shows the boyish, vulnerable and lonely side of himself which is quite endearing. I found it funny how his honest advances got misunderstood.
The relationship between them at this point was mostly bickering and fights spiced with a couple of tender moments because both of them tried to fight the attraction for different reasons. However their chemistry and connection is so strong that they can’t/ couldn’t resist forever. They are really good together.

There are quite a few new characters, too.  A lot of them only mentioned in passing but honestly they all sound really interesting and represent a vast amount of possibilities for future stories.

I really loved this book, it fast and dynamic, strong and action packed with a lot of new information regarding the characters. However strangely I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first book. I blame this on once the fact that I already mentioned earlier with the not quite remembering everything and the thing that I still don’t find any reason or logic behind the whole conspiracy thingy. This is mentioned by the characters too, but doesn’t get answered, the why, who, where or at least a hint of something to help me understand.

Over all I still love the book and can’t wait for the next one. As of now the series consist of 3 books but I really hope the author decides to extend it because this series has such an exceptional world building and premise I think it has it in itself to carry a longer arc. Pretty please.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

