nixitN’s Review: ‘Things Liars Say’ by Sara Ney

Lies, lies, lies; everybody tells them…. Greyson Keller didn’t intend to lie; it just came out that way. So when the object of that lie shows up on her doorstep, she is confused, shocked, and embarrassed. Calvin Thompson is an Ivy Leaguer, attending University over an hour away, playing rugby and basically not giving a crap. So imagine his surprise when some guy named Greyson begins rumors online that they’re dating — the only logical solution is to drive an hour and confront him… Be there when Greyson and Cal finally meet face-to-face because. Sparks. Will. Fly.

Title: Things Liars Say (#ThreeLittleLies #1)
Author: Sara Ney
Published: July 30th 2015 by Sara Ney
Genres: contemporary romance, chick lit, new adult, humor

My thoughts:

“I decided I was keeping you the day you showed up at my door. You’re mine.”

What if you were just gonna figure out your boyfriend? But the next day, your imaginary boyfriend would come true, it’s a real big surprise.
Greyson is single and her friends poking her. So the idea comes that she finds out Cal Thompson. Greyson would never have thought (“Little do I know, the lies that so easily rolled off my tongue today will soon become entirely too real.”), that her imaginary guy will stands in her door in a few days and he is presented as Cal Thompson. She soon has to realize that her lie is a real person. So she shares the her lie with Cal.

It is a cute and funny story about two strange people who realize that their love isn’t a fiction but a real one. I really liked Greyson and Calvin, all their conversations were cute sometimes funny. There was nothing drama, just a light story. Only I’m sorry that personal contact between the two characters was few and the book was short. I’d love to read more about them.

My favorite quotes from the book:

“Our lips and bodies tell a story, one we’ve been writing for the past seven weeks… a story of our friendship, bond, and love.”

“I do miss you. Is that weird?”
“Everything about us is weird.”

“World around us forgotten, I exaggerate my pucker, inviting him in. I ache with need for him. We ache with need for each other.”

“What did you tell them you were laughing at?”
“The truth. I told them the truth: that you made me laugh and that you make me happy.”

You Leave a Comment

