Viki’s Review: ‘Blood Kissed’ by Keri Arthur

In a world where magic and science sit side by side, and powerful witches are considered necessary aides for all governments, Lizzie Grace is something of an outlier. Though born into one the most powerful blue blood witch families, she wants nothing to do with either her past or her magic. But when she and Belle, her human familiar and best friend, open a small cafe in the Faelan werewolf reservation, she quickly finds herself enmeshed in the hunt for a vampire intent on wreaking bloody havoc. It’s a hunt that soon becomes personal, and one that is going to take all her skills to survive–that’s if the werewolves, who hate all things witch, don’t get her first.

Title: Blood Kissed (Lizzie Grace #1)
Author: Keri Arthur
Published: May 9th 2017 by Keri Arthur
Genres: paranormal romance, fantasy, adult, magic, shapeshifters


My thoughts:

I was so excited about this book from the moment I saw the cover on the blog of the author. Back then it didn’t even have a synopsis but only the pretty cover and the name of the author made this a guaranteed read. Especially after my experience with her Outcast series.

The thing is that I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I hoped for. Maybe because  I had really high expectations  or because I not so keen on stories focusing on witches and this one paid just a tad bit more attention to them than I would have liked.  But let’s start with the beginning. Alas with the world building. As was writing this review I realized that my real problem lied with the world building. Usually Keri Arthur performs exceptionally well in this department, she has phenomenal ideas but in this case the presentation of said world is a bit lacking. For one I didn’t love the idea behind how the presented world hierarchy and structure worked. It has a lot of good ideas but most of them are still hazy for me, the description is not spot on or even clear and t bothered me. Yes here and there are thrown into the mix some explanation of politics and governing but not nearly enough to create a clear picture.  I got that the witches has a significantly big role in leading or ore like advising, also the supernatural’s are kind of create the governing body but even within them there is a hierarchy  between factions. ( In this part I found a couple of vague similarities with Anne Bishop ‘s Others series). But with the little information I got I couldn’t put everything together to my satisfaction. For one I think this obscuring is partially because the secrets of the witch world go hand in hand with Lizzie past and that is a secret for a future book. In the end I didn’t love the world building but saw a lot of potential in it.

The plot was interesting, fast paced after the first 30%  and eventful but it moved on so many different levels that it was harder to connect the little dots into a picture. I found the storyline enjoyable but also hard to put together so a bit hazy. In some instance I just couldn’t see how the characters came to that particular conclusion. I also think it could have been more powerful yet I found myself fully immersed into it.

As for the characters I liked Lizzie. She is different from the usual characters I like. She is very down to earth and kind of a pragmatic, she expects the worst from every situation but that’s because of her personal experience. She is running and hiding from her family for over ten years now and in that time she encountered a lot of hardship, so it’s safe to say she went through a lot yet she still finds happiness in little things. I liked her attitude especially toward Aiden, her sarcasm and brutal honesty. She is trying to live in the down low, but when someone in need comes through her door she can’t let it go. Supposedly she is a pureblood witch with next to nothing in terms of power, yet I think there is more there than meets the eye at first glance.  She is a snarky, brave and caring heroine.
Then there is Aiden, the local ranger, werewolf and witch hater. He is quite hostile toward our heroine for no reason what-so-ever. Yet I liked him with his slightly negative and assholish self because he changes and knows when to admit that he was wrong. There is a palatable attraction between them from the very beginning but both of the tries to resist it for a while. It was funny to follow their little dance around each other. Then it was delighting how their connection, relationship changed and became something else.

There are a lot of interesting and meddling supporting characters too, but the one I have to mention is Belle, Lizzie’s sidekick/best friend/familiar. She was the funny and more carefree of the duo and her little speeches shake up the book a little bit.

I liked it, but didn’t love it yet but I definitely have high hopes of this series and can’t wait for the next books and the secrets they will reveal, some of them I already suspect and it’s going to be epic, I just know it.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

