4.5 stars, nixitN's review

nixitN’s ARC Review: ‘The Broken Ones’ by Danielle L. Jensen

Below Forsaken Mountain, a plot is being hatched to overthrow the tyrant king of Trollus, and Marc is the right-hand man of its leader. His involvement is information more than one troll would kill to possess, which is why he must keep it a secret from everyone, even the girl he loves. After accidentally ruining her sister’s chance to become queen, Pénélope is given one last opportunity by her father, the Duke d’Angoulême, to make herself useful: she must find proof that the boy she’s in love with is conspiring against the crown. If she fails, her life will be forfeit. Marc and Pénélope must navigate the complex politics of Trollus, where powers on all sides are intent on using them as pawns, forcing them to risk everything for a chance at a life together. Except being together may turn out to be the greatest risk of all.

Title: The Broken Ones (The Malediction Trilogy 0.6)
Author: Danielle L. Jensen
Published: June 6th 2017 by Angry Robot
Genres: high fantasy, young adult, romance


My thoughts:

Spoiler Alart!

“Our world is cursed. Everyone is sick or twisted or dying from the iron and the darkness.”

It shows antecedent events and Marc’s life before Stolen Songbird. Marc’s life isn’t easy because he’s in love with Pénélope in secret. And while he helps Tristan’s plans, that Tristan can take the throne and so he will save the half-bloods. That may sound easy, but the more cunning King especially Duke.

“I’ve lived nearly my entire life believing I’d be alone.”

Pénélope suffers a lot from her father’s anger. Only her sister, Anais can only defend her from it. The sisters’ relationship is strong and tight. I liked their bonds’ portrayal and I hated their father. Their father is cruel and cunning, he’s the evil one himself.

“Was it selfish of me to want more?”

Marc’s strong character. He and Tristan have a brotherly love even if they aren’t, but their bonds’ strong as well. Marc protect Pénélope at all costs. If he still have to pay a big price. He have to choose, but he loves both of them, so the choice is difficult. Both of them need him. Pénélope is waiting for rescue from her father. Tristan expects to help from him to saving half-bloods and he doesn’t become a cruel than his father.

“I love you. I’ve always loved you. Always wanted to be with you. But I never thought I’d get the chance.”
“I want to be with you, Pénélope. I need you to know that. And if being with me is what you want, then I’m willing to fight to make it happen.”

Marc and Pénélope’ love is similar to Romeo and Juliet. At the beginning they tried to keep the distance from each other, but their feelings are much stronger. They come out close to each other, so they can’t hide their feelings anymore.
I loved them very much. They were so cute together. I liked their fight for each other. Marc was hero and Pénélope was him princess. Unfortunately I knew in advance that they don’t expect a happy ending. But even so it broke my heart. Their farewell was so beautifully written. (“All my life I’ve loved you. You’re the only one who made me believe that I was good enough as I am. Pénélope, if there’s a place we go in death, I’ll follow you there. I’ll find you.”)

“I hope one day you know a love strong enough that your heart will overrule your mind.”

Pénélope doesn’t even know that it will come true. Tristan will experience the same strong love with Cécile in the Stolen Songbird. Somewhere it changes him. He increasingly will fight for his people.

It’s a beautiful and painful love story. It warmed my heart so that it could finally crush that one. It’s a beautifully written story with excitements and likeable or obnoxious characters. Story was exciting, too. But it mostly focused on the two main characters. The political game isn’t over yet. The King and Duke still live, and there is the curse as well.

I received this copy from the Angry Robot via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

You Leave a Comment

