Viki’s Review: ‘Beautiful Failure’ by Mariah Cole

If you’re looking for a heartwarming story about a girl who falls deeply in love with a troubled boy who changes her life–a sob story with pretty metaphors and a million ways that’ll tell you how “broken” she is, STOP. Don’t read another word of this. I’m not that type of girl. My name is Emerald Anderson and I’m not going to bullshit you: I flunked out of college after my sophomore year, I’ve been fired from every job I’ve ever taken, and I’ve never had a fully functioning relationship in my life. I wish I could say that I had a cheerleader in my corner, someone who says, “No, Emerald–You’re great and you are good at something!” but I don’t. My grandparents are completely oblivious to my life, and my mother’s dying words to me were “You’re going to end up just like me one day. A beautiful nothing.” She was right. As I decide to start my life over and take two jobs that will forever change me–one from the inside, and one from the outside, I keep my mother’s words close to my heart so I can keep the sexy and mysterious Carter Black away. He’s the first man who’s ever pursued me, the first man who seems bent on finding out why I am the way I am, but he’s wasting his time. I’m not broken. I don’t need to be fixed. I’m perfectly fine being a beautiful failure…

Title: Beautiful Failure (Beautiful #1)
Author: Mariah Cole
Published: 2014 by ‘Not Your Cinderella’ Press
Genres: contemporary romance, new adult, abuse, drama


My thoughts:

I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect when I started to read this book. Luckily this was a really interesting read in the best possible way. Lately it’s harder and harder for me to find the right contemporary book with the right balance between the plot and the romantic side of the story.

Sure I struggled a bit with connect to the story because Emerald character is and her personality is really far from mine. She thinks really low about herself and has quite a low self esteem, she acts according to her low standers even when it’s shown numerous times how smart she is in realty. She can’t or doesn’t want to change her life.

The story sucked me in with the first sentence it has quite an unusual start. Despite my preconvention regarding Emerald attitude and view of life I could fully enjoy the events. I usually hate characters that are so misjudging their value and looks when it’s obvious that the opposite is the truth yet they still play the victim. I know it a deeper and more complex mental thing, but I just hate when a beautiful person plays the woo me card. In this case Emerald mother had a pretty big role in the girl issues. She was a horrible human being and an even worse mother. She not only created the issues but conditioned her daughter to be oblivious about them. But Emerald was lucky when Carter came along, he with a lot of work and support helped her to start to see clearly.
I really liked Carter character; he is patient and lenient toward Emerald. He has big role but only get to know him superficially, and about his personal life next to nothing. That’s way the ending of the book packed such a big punch. It shook me up and because of this I can’t wait for the next book. Unfortunately there is no news about it.

This book has everything a good contemporary need: scandal, passion, love, heartbreaking emotions and shocking premise. The author built up her storyline exceptionally but it’s not the most exciting or eventful plot I ever encountered. I still enjoyed it quite a bit.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

