Viki’s Review: ‘Until Sage’ by Aurora Rose Reynolds

Sage Mayson had Kimberly Cullen once, and the memory of that brief encounter has tortured him since the moment he pushed her away. He should have followed his gut, but he didn’t, and now he’s left watching the woman he wants more than anything from afar. Kimberly vowed to protect her heart from Sage, but when her sister is murdered and her world starts to fall apart, he’s the one person she finds herself leaning on. Getting a second chance is something Sage knows is rare. He’s not going to squander the one he’s been given, and he won’t take no for an answer when it comes to making Kim his. But what Sage doesn’t know is Kim has a secret that could leave them both devastated and heartbroken.

Title: Until Sage (Until Him #2)
Author: Aurora Rose Reynolds
Published: May 9th 2017 by Aurora Rose Reynolds
Genres: contemporary romance, new adult, drama


My Thoughts

To be honest with you all, I’m pretty disappointed with this story. I loved the books about the original couples and the author writing style is really amazing and solid. It doesn’t weaver, keeps a consistent level of finesse. However regarding Sage story apart from the writing style almost everything else is underwhelming.

The thing is that we already know a lot about Sage and Kim story because basically we got snippets of their relationship and connection starting from Until Jax. So I expected more of it. Even if not the full detailed events of the already recounted events but a little bit more about it and the emotional effects it caused in the characters. Unfortunately, it only told in a quite loose fashion, without a deeper emotional diving. Not to mention that the situation doesn’t get better over the course of the story. The plot is simple and almost boring, nothing happens with Sage and Kim expect what we already known from before the book came out. And the only emotions it presents are regarding Kim guilt regarding her sister which is really over the top and excessive and this is not the only thing Kim overreacts, she does that a lot during the book.

Regarding the characters, they are not the best I ever encountered from the author. The problem is not with their personalities but the lack of showing it. There is not much opportunity to show their deeper character traits, only the surface is scratched. What I get is that Sage is bossy and has issues with his birth mother. Whereas Kim is really stubborn and overreacts a lot, she is afraid to trust others because she fears rejection. Their chemistry is their but not as explosive as I used to from Aurora Rose Reynolds.
As of now I can’t follow the number of Mayson children so I don’t even try anymore, but there are a lot of them which means there are a lot of secondary characters.  I mentioned earlier that I loved the original couples but Sophie, November and the others became really pushy and annoying towards their children they disappointed me a little bit. What interesting that the other second generation boys are pretty much stay in the background so we don’t know much about them unlike with the girls. Which means I have no idea who the next Until him book is going to be about.

This book is a sweet but superficial love story which lacks the necessary depth. But its short and easy read so I could enjoy it but didn’t love it. The cover is pretty as it’s usual from this series.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

