Viki’s Review: ‘Protector’ by Leia Stone, S.T. Bende

Love. Honor. Protect. As an Environmental Studies major, Allie knows the planet is in trouble – a series of natural disasters recently rocked the northern hemisphere, and species across the globe are going extinct. What Allie doesn’t know is that her world’s decline is a casualty of an ancient battle called the Night War – the Norse goddess Nott’s crusade to control the weakest of the light realms. And Allie most definitely doesn’t know that her existence is the only thing stopping Nott from dragging the earth into total darkness. When four gorgeous guys show up claiming to be Allie’s Asgardian protectors, she thinks they’re delusional. And when they order her to hunt down the pieces of an immortal weapon, she’s convinced they’re insane. But when Allie’s attacked, the guys’ crazy stories of demigods and dark elves begin coming together. And Allie’s not sure what scares her more – losing her life to the Goddess of Night… or losing her heart to one of her protectors. Let the hunt begin.

Title: Protector (Night War Saga #1)
Author: Leia Stone, S.T. Bende
Published: April 25th 2017 by Leia Stone, S.T. Bende
Genres: paranormal romance, mythology, new adult


My thoughts:

I just discovered this book a couple of week before the actual release day and I was really looking forward to, because it has a pretty cover and an interesting synopsis. Not to mention the Norse mythological elements too it. Unfortunately it disappointed me greatly. I read a few books from S.T. Bende before and I’m sad to say that this book has everything in it I didn’t like in her previous books either. As for Leia Stone I didn’t read anything from her before so I can’t comment on that front.

The basic idea in the book, the general plot would be great. It’s really interesting and has a lot of potential. However there is a lot of things in it, little elements to the story and the writing style that I didn’t like at all. One of them is the main character which is a really damming thing for me.

The world building is simple and uses the basics from Norse mythology with the different worlds and also the authors use the different gods and goddesses in the story but just in name. One of my disappointments was that the story only grazes the surface of the mythology, it only serves as a background to the events and doesn’t get an explanation. Also the story itself starts out flat and slow and it didn’t get much better later either. The time management is screwed up, it jumps weeks between scenes and   basically everything interesting happens then and we only get to know them by Allie’s recounting, second hand.
There is a lot of mumbo-jumbo about energies and centers and such, which is really confusing and it’s a problem when there is so much attention focused on this particular element to Allie powers. I would have liked a different balance.

The best word I could describe Allie is dense. She needs to be goaded into everything, to start progressing also most of the things need to be spelled out for her to understand it. Her thoughts are all over the place and for me it caused disorienting effect. She is a bit selfish and immature. I couldn’t understand how she could concentrate on romance in the most inappropriate moments in the middle of the fight to stop the end of the world. I didn’t like heart all even if I think that her reaction to the secrets is the one of the most realistic I encountered in fantasy books like this.

As for the four boys they could have been interesting but we don’t get to know them at all. Allie and the boys don’t have the connection I expected. All of their important interactions and bonding moments happens behind the scenes. The only one we see more of is Tore, who is a bit irritating and unreasonable. I don’t understand the reasons most of his actions.  The chemistry between him and Allie is really lacking.

This one ended up not being to my liking at all, at toward the end the plot picked up a little and I even liked some of the events. As for continuing the series, it’s still a big question mark and depends on my mood when it comes out.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

