Review ‘Fear the beard’

Title: Fear the beard
Author: Lani Lynn Vale
Series: The dixie wardens rejetcts mc #2
Genres:Romance, Contemporary
Add to Goodreads

Tally is a twenty-year-old single mother struggling to finish nursing school. Has she made mistakes in life? Sure, but her daughter isn’t one of them. She works hard, she studies even harder, and she’s only a few weeks away from graduating.
She’s living her life the best she knows how when she witnesses a near miss motorcycle accident between a car and a biker. A biker that happens to be the most talked about teacher at her college.The moment she meets those startling blue, narrowly-escaped-death eyes, she realizes quickly that life as she knows it has changed. No longer will she be content to let life pass her by, even if it puts everything she’s worked so hard for in jeopardy.***

Tommy is a highly skilled doctor. A teacher. A veteran. A fully-patched member of The Dixie Wardens MC. He’s lonely, but also set in his ways. What will it take for this man to accept that he needs to make some changes in his life? Apparently, it’ll take a guy in a truck, who’s preoccupied with his phone rather than focused on the road, nearly plowing into him on his bike at seventy miles per hour. Oh, and a twenty-something year old nursing student witnessing the entire thing from only a few feet away.

It only takes a second, a single heartbeat in time, as he looks into her worry-filled eyes to realize that he’d give anything for a single night with her. He may lose his job in the process, but after that one incredible night turns into an amazing weekend, he knows it’s worth the risk for the promise of her forever.

My Thoughts

I love Lani Lynn Vale books. I read everything from her so far and planning on doing so n the future, too. She creates amazing characters and has really good ideas for her plots. Though her in her later books I noticed she is prone to equip the more over the top drama and events in her stories and it started to became a bit ridicules especially since she keeps her stories in one place, all of her books interlace in some level. So yeah I can’t picture a town where are more hostage situations, kidnappings, bombings and other major criminal events than in the little towns she uses as a background for her books. But I love them nevertheless. However this story kind of falls on the other side of the scale. There is almost no drama in it whatsoever.

You could think that thanks to this the story became boring and yeah maybe it’s a bit more dull than I used to from her but it makes up with the characters and even the writing style which is the best in this book I ever read from this author so far. Compared to the author first book this one’s writing style is much more sophisticated and clean. Still has some inconsistencies in regards of names and such but those are just minor and kind of inconsequential things.
The plot has a lot of opportunities for more drama and action but sadly they are not exploited to their fullest extent.

The characters are really great and strangely enough the 12 or so year’s age difference didn’t even bother me much. Tally is more mature than her age would suggest. She had to grow up fast but loves her life. She is hard working. She is a bit insecure regarding her looks but I loved that she didn’t doubt Tommy for a moment after they got together and that she didn’t do jealousy. Tommy is also great and so cute with the baby. He knows what he wants and goes for it. His allegiance or more like membership to the MC is not so glaring than in for example in the The dixie wardens mc series its more like the I love bikes kinda thing. Tally and Tommy are just so real, so yeah maybe their romance is not the most exciting or hot but they create the perfect family union.

I really liked this book. It’s funny and sweet a breath of fresh air from this author usual over the top stories but I would have liked a bit more excitement in it.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

