4 stars, Recommend, Viki's review

Review ‘Nevernight’

Title: Nevernight
Author: Jay Kristoff
Series: The Nevernight Chronicles #
Genres: High fantasy, Young adult, Romance, Magic
Add to Goodreads

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

I was pushing this book back for quite a time for a number of reasons. Based on the synopsis this story is right up my alley and I absolutely love the cover but I read and heard a lot of reviews about it and more of them were negative than positive. That was one of the holding back factors, also I heard it’s easier to read from a physical copy thanks to the little footnotes and the format of the book and I only recently got the hardback copy of it, I was reluctant to start my ebook copy. Well I thank the stars for my parent’s decision to order it for my birthday because I probably would have delayed to read it more without it and I it was absolutely freaking amazing.

It’s not exactly everything I expected it to be in some regards it was better in some not so good but overall it provided a phenomenal reading experience. Also it teaches me once more not to let myself be swayed by others reviews if my first instant say otherwise especially since the thinks I loved the most about this story are the things others criticize the most. But back to the beginning.
The story basically tells the birth of an assassin who destined to change the basics of her world.
The world building and the whole society is a Roman Empire-esque slash Italy Middle Ages spiced with secret assassin society and magic. The society part is not so deeply detailed that it could be but since the focus of things is more on the assassins and the way their ranks work and how they learn the trade it’s not something I missed. But still has beautifully described places and buildings.

The thing I liked the most is the writing style. The story sucked me in with the first chapter I loved the way the author made the parallel between the past and present just with a different atmosphere, view point to it.  I would have loved if he continued this scheme through the whole the story but I admit it would have been a hard thing to do. Also just the writing style with the beautiful metaphors, allegories just the general artistic, poetic way it’s written. This kind of flowery language is hard to create and even read but once you get into it, the story transports you a whole different world in a magical way. It has a beautiful wording but the pictures it creates are gritty, brutal and raw.
The thing though that the footnotes are interesting and have a lot of added information but not always important to the story and easily breaks up the flow of the actual plot.

The plot itself is interesting and exciting but starts out really slowly and I even feared how much we will get to see from the actual assassin part because of the whole day by days of the student days. Fortunately at the last third of the book things picked up and things started to happen more frequently. But don’t worry you won’t be bored because the slower parts are just as informative and interesting. Also there is a huge twist or surprise whatever you want call it that I didn’t see coming namely because I still can’t understand what is the reason/motivation behind this person actions.

About the characters, Mia personality is the thing that disappointed me at first. Based on the synopsis I expected a badass, hard core heroine with the whole assassin revenge plot. She is not exactly as hard as you would think. Yes sometimes she can be the emotionless, cunning killer her plans require ( mostly when her fear is sucked away) but otherwise she is a bit naïve, dreamer kind of a girl who still have her morals and humanity which doesn’t really agrees with the ‘school’ propaganda. Yes she is smart, hard working,  adaptive and even talented but doesn’t really grasp the seriousness of her newfound apprentice ship with a killer sect, the sacrifices she will have to make if she stays with them or that despite her success it doesn’t automatically mean they are going to let her go on her merry revenge spree. But its only means that she has places to progress so at the end I liked her.
I liked Tric from the beginning but he was so out of place in among the band sycophants and crazy killers with his soft heart and good intentions. He is cute and honest and strong but not the best addition to this tale. He is like a lost little boy his bitter experience led him astray quite a bit and maybe it’s cruel to say but I was glad about his fate because I couldn’t see his purpose in the next stories.
There is also a lot of other promising and colorful characters in the story with their own secrets yet to be revealed but I’m quit sad about the whole Lord Cassius thingy. He was idolized and he got a mysterious aura and a legend so I hoped he will get a more prominent role later on but this hope of mine got dashed brutally and with quite finality.

Overall, I adored this story and can’t wait for the next installment. I have a lot of theories based on the last chapter which is a brilliant magnetic addition to the book. Nevernight is a breathtaking, unique story with mysticism and a lot of layers and secrets. A really enjoyable read.

You Leave a Comment

