Review ‘Renegade lady’

Title: Renegade lady
Author: Dawn Martens & Emily Minton
Series: Renegade sons MC #1
Genres: Romance
Add to Goodreads

Jenna “Ice” Chandler grew up as part of a motorcycle club. She considered it her home, until one wrong move made it her prison. After months of abuse, she is rescued by Chipper, who takes her to Big Clifty, Missouri, home of the Renegade Sons MC.

Kiddrick “Kidd” Jones is the president of the Renegades. He knows there is something special about Ice the moment his older brother, Chipper, brings her into the club, but stays away, because she is too young.

When time comes for Ice to take her place in the club, she has two choices, become an old lady or a club whore. Not believing in love and knowing a man can never be faithful, she decides to earn her spot on her back.

With each passing year, Kidd’s feelings for Ice grows and the urge to make her his becomes stronger. Frustrated and jealous, he finally decides it’s time to make her his.

Will Ice finally thaw out and give love a chance, or is Kidd fighting a losing battle?

WARNING: Renegade Lady contains adult situations some readers may find offensive. This is a raw and gritty story involving explicit sex, graphic language, violence and drug use. Not intended for readers under 18.

My Thoughts

I love MC books but I had some reluctance regarding the story because I had a suspicion that there is going to be a substantial age different between the two main characters. I don’t like those but in this casa luckily it doesn’t bothered me as much as I expected.

Just like it’s expected from a book about motorcycle clubs there is no shortage or drugs, sex and violence. During the 8 years we see two sides of the coin, in the light of two completely different moralities. It’s a graphic, emotional story with a lot of loss, heartache and shocking events.  The best part of the book is the way all of these emotions come through clearly and impacts the reader deeply. The authors have a way with this particular element of their tales.
The events gradually build onto each other creating a clear path to understanding. It really enjoyable and despite the amount of drama it presents, not overwhelming.

The story is told from multiple point of view, on one side from Jenna’s where as her past is really prominent but then we can see Kidd side of the story, too. So we get a really clear picture but it also makes it hard to decide who I would side with.
My only displeasure was with the epilogue, it’s not satisfying enough.

Both of the main characters are really stubborn and proud which stand in their way of making up/ talking things over. That’s why things drag over 6 years.

Jenna or Ice is really young at the beginning of the book, not just young but naive and innocent too. She starts out as a shy, sweet, childlike person but she goes through a lot that changes, hardens her. She becomes a willful, proud, somewhat scary and tough character. Doesn’t handle everything well and when she has a chance to leave the biker lifestyle she still stays.

Kidd the handsome president of the club is older that Jenna but he is attracted to the girl whom he doesn’t know how to handle. He chooses the worst solution in the world creating a huge and seemingly unbridgeable chasm between them. He hurts her a lot, but with time he learns from his mistakes and does everything to get her.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

