Viki's review

Top Ten Thing on my Bookish Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

A couple of element, topics, tropes that I love and wish could find more often in books.

  1. Time travel romances set in either medieval or ancient Rome, Greek setting.
  2. More stories using Asian elements/ mythology especially Japan/Chinese
  3. Less love triangle, I never liked them and this didn’t change in the last 6 or so years.
  4. Less overwhelming teenage drama, I don’t mind some, but most of the young adult stories are so full of them they are painful and unnecessarily angsty.
  5. I love stories with either arranged marriages or marriages of conveniences. It usually so funny or full of emotions that it makes a fantastic reading experience.
  6. Family or a group of people in books with a strong bond and camaraderie. I love the dynamic they create; it’s just an amazing addition to stories.
  7. More paranormal romances like the Mercedes Thompson, Kate Daniels, Katherine ‘Kitty’ Katt or Jane Yellowrock series. I absolutely loved them but unfortunately most of them is close to the finishing line and it was a long time ago that I found anything similar to them to replace the finished series.
  8. Phenomenal high fantasy books with the perfect blend of romance, magic and mayhem.
  9. More books where the female lead is trying to get a hold in a male oriented profession or already excelling at it. I love female knights, fighters, mechanics, and race car drivers and so on. Girl power.
  10. It’s a strange one but I love M/M/F romances but not all of them. I like the ones where the main focus is not on the sexual aspect of the story but there is a substantial plot behind it. Unfortunately they are really rare.

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Thing on my Bookish Wishlist”

  1. Asian settings was on my list too, but I was talking about historical fictions set in Asia. The only series I’ve ever read that incorporated Japanese mythology was the Paper Gods series by Amanda Sun. The characters are slightly cliched, but the mythology aspect was quite interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m more for a historical setting myself in that topic, but I think there is a lot of opportunity in it for contemporary stories, too.

      Like

You Leave a Comment

