Review ‘Daughter of the Pirate King’ by Tricia Levenseller

Title: Daughter of the Pirate King
Author: Tricia Levenseller
Series: Daughter of the Pirate King #1
Genres: Fantasy, Young adult, Adventure
Add to Goodreads

There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for. Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship. More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

My Thoughts

I don’t know why but I was really excited for this book. Maybe the cover, which I absolutely loved or the whole pirate princess concept, but it was really appealing for me. Unfortunately I’m quite disappointed in this story. It was okay but nothing exceptional or spectacular.

The writing style is great if not a little bit dull and the pace of the plot is a bit slow for my liking. The thing is that there is no world building whatsoever. I don’t exactly miss it because the whole plat takes place in a really restricted space, namely one ship and 2 brief visits of an island, yet the whole mythology and history behind the storyline is not as detailed as it should require for a full experience. So for me it feels a bit lazy how this whole thing is put together. However this is not my biggest problem with the book, because I could have managed well enough if the only flaw in it is this.

The thing is that I’m not fan of the characters at all. Alosa lives up her title, she is cunning, clever and can fight but she has a smugness to her under it all that doesn’t let me like her. She has special abilities but her heritage caused her a hard and painful childhood. Still I don’t like how she carries herself, the reasons behind her actions. She tries to justify herself but she doesn’t even believes it.

The tone of the plot is not really a serious one but it is entertaining and has a bit mystery to it at the beginning. It all starts out in an intriguing way but loses the edge quite quick. Also I think the romance gets too much focus but not developed enough. Like the author couldn’t decide how much attention should she put to it.

This book has an advantage since it about a rarely used topic, as of pirates and has a couple of great ideas hidden in it. It has adventure; it is a quick and light read, enjoyable even just not my cup of tea.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

