Blast from the past #3

In the Blast from the past post I’m going to recommend, review books, series that:

  1. I absolutely loved but I think never got the hype they deserved, nowadays you can’t even hear about them and/or just simply really underrated by my opinion.
  2. They are not recent releases, came out more than 3 years ago.

I’m going to try and do one every 2 weeks to one per month depends on my time. Not more frequently because my old review stash is depleting and not endless. I hope you are going to enjoy it. Also I’m going to try and write them as spoiler free as possible but some minor ones are unavoidable.
6316125

Janice Hardy- Healing wars series

Add to Goodreads

Nya is an orphan struggling for survival in a city crippled by war. She is also a Taker—with her touch, she can heal injuries, pulling pain from another person into her own body. But unlike her sister, Tali, and the other Takers who become Healers’ League apprentices, Nya’s skill is flawed: She can’t push that pain into pynvium, the enchanted metal used to store it. All she can do is shift it into another person, a dangerous skill that she must keep hidden from forces occupying her city. If discovered, she’d be used as a human weapon against her own people.

Rumors of another war make Nya’s life harder, forcing her to take desperate risks just to find work and food. She pushes her luck too far and exposes her secret to a pain merchant eager to use her shifting ability for his own sinister purposes. At first Nya refuses, but when Tali and other League Healers mysteriously disappear, she’s faced with some difficult choices. As her father used to say, principles are a bargain at any price; but how many will Nya have to sell to get Tali back alive?

Other books in the series    ❖ Blue fire ❖ ❖ Darkfall

This is a fantastic, exciting and full of adventures and secret Young Adult trilogy which took me by complete surprise. I found it by a recommendation when I was in a book slump and I liked the covers so I took a chance with it. I devoured the whole series within days.

Nya lives in a world where some of the lucky ones have healing abilities. She has one to but not the ordinary variety of it but rather a rare never seen before kind. She is incapable of putting the pain and sickness into the precious metal called pynvium so she has to suffer it or transfer it into another person. She has to keep it secret if she doesn’t want to become a walking weapon. She is an orphan girl living in a country occupied by enemy forces so she has a hard time finding work, food and shelter. Her hard life becomes even harder when her secret is revealed at the brink of another war with depilated pynvium sources so she needs to run. She takes on an adventure to saving her sister and later her country.

The world building is a masterpiece which gives the whole plot the perfect supportive pillar to build on. I really liked how the hierarchy and the healing abilities work in the stories. The whole thing is really original and thinking back it reminds me a bit of Maria V Snyder- Healer trilogy just with a younger set of characters. However this is the older edition but I don’t know how much I looked for similar books than the Healer trilogy so it was kind of god send.
The pace of the plot is quite fast with constant action. Some instances I needed to take a breather to process the things I just learned, meaning it in the positive light.

Nya is a young but surprisingly strong main character, who despite her age stands and wins every challenge coming her way. She had to grow up real fast after her parent’s death but it helps her make the difficult choices during her journey. It’s a bit strange that the all of the leaders expect the solution from a 15 year old girl but whatever.
The secondary characters are also great all of them has a certain and definite role in the way of things, they are easy to identify and follow.

The plot in the course of the three books constantly thickness and sharpens but it’s hard to separate them from each other. But if I had to categorize them then the first book is the introduction, the second is the surprises and big revelations and the third is the heavy with emotional progress. But these emotions are not exactly romantic ones because there is precariously small dose of romance in the book (One of the things why I was so surprised that I loved the book this much).

I absolutely adored this series even with the bittersweet events at the end but it only made the plot more realistic because you can’t win a rebellion, war without losses. This series presents an unforgettable tale.

 

Favorite character: Nya

Favorite scene: almost every one where Nya shows of her abilities, especially in the third book

What I didn’t like: The painful losses at the ending even if they were necessary and impacted the story positivly

Favorite cover: All of them has pretty covers but my favorite is the first one

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

