Review ‘Killer instinct’

Title: Killer instinct
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Series: The NAturals #2
Genres: Young adult, Mystery, Thriller
Add to Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Cassie Hobbes has a gift for profiling people. Her talent has landed her a spot in an elite FBI program for teens with innate crime-solving abilities, and into some harrowing situations. After barely escaping a confrontation with an unbalanced killer obsessed with her mother’s murder, Cassie hopes she and the rest of the team can stick to solving cold cases from a distance.

But when victims of a brutal new serial killer start turning up, the Naturals are pulled into an active case that strikes too close to home: the killer is a perfect copycat of Dean’s incarcerated father—a man he’d do anything to forget. Forced deeper into a murderer’s psyche than ever before, will the Naturals be able to outsmart the enigmatic killer’s brutal mind games before this copycat twists them into his web for good?

With her trademark wit, brilliant plotting, and twists that no one will see coming, Jennifer Lynn Barnes will keep readers on the edge of their seats (and looking over their shoulders) as they race through the pages of this thrilling novel.

My Thoughts

I liked the first book in the series well enough but I didn’t feel the urge to continuo the series as soon as the next book comes out and that’s why it took me this long to read this installment. But maybe it was a lucky choice because this way I could binge read the whole series.

Killer instinct picks up right where the first book ended and it completely sucks you in within a couple of pages. I read it in record time without realizing it. The story is brilliant and really engaging, it’s really intense and fast paced and honest really misleading. When you think you figured out the mystery and the identity of the bad guys there is an unbelievable plot twist to shake up things.

There is a little bit of a romance in the book to but it really is not the focus of the story. I would say it’s more like an afterthought but still impacts Cassie decisions a lot because she is in the middle of a love triangle. I generally hate love triangles but in this story it’s so shadowed by the mystery and excitement that it didn’t bother me a bit.

The characters age makes the reality of the book a little bit dubious but I liked it. Cassie is a great main character. She is really inquisitive and persistent; she created a bond with the others in the team so she cares about them a lot.
I liked Michael in the first book but in this I felt like he was pressuring Cassie unnecessarily. His personality also shows a shallower trait and he started to annoy me. Dean on the other hand starts to show more and more of his true self. I really like his brooding personality. Also we get to know more and more about the others in the program and they slowly form a stronger bond becoming a family like unit.

I enjoyed this book, it’s a breath of fresh air among my usual romance dominated reads and the mystery is really well worked out and goes full circle.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

