Viki's review

Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

  1. Cover, there is no denying that I’m a cover whore and unfortunately a couple of times I regretted it just because of my tendency to pick up a book because of its cover. If it beautiful or just has something inviting about it I’m sold.
  2. A well worded synopsis can change my mind about a story even if I know that the genre is not my favorite.
  3. I have a couple of authors whom I read everything no matter what. They proved their talent over and over again so I don’t think about it anymore if it’s by them I pick it up.
  4. Amazing fan art, when I’m in a book slump I usually go hunting and look for fan art. A beautiful or an interesting piece of drawing made me pick up a book I generally would have ignored numerous times.
  5. If there is a possibility or a hint about a Kick ass, snarky female lead I’m all for it.
  6. When there is a movie adaptation or a TV show about a particular book which I didn’t read yet but love the trailer of the movie I pick up the book, well before I watch it.
  7. I love Asian culture so when there are some of its elements, history or mythology is in a book it makes me want to read it.
  8. I love contemporary books where the male lead has a job that requires a uniform. Police, fireman, military man and so on. So yeah man in a uniform storyline is a definite draw for me.
  9. Lately I love romance book where one of the future couple is a single parent. It usually foreshadows a more mature mentality for the characters and even in new adult books the childish grown up characters can drive me up the walls.
  10. Lastly in paranormal stories if it’s about shapeshifters its always starts with an advantage because they are my favorite supernatural creatures.
2 thoughts on “Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book”

You Leave a Comment

