Review ‘Lexington and 42nd’

Title: Lexington and 42nd
Author: Kim Carmody
Series: Off field #1
Genres: Sport romance, New adult
Add to Goodreads

It was meant to be the job opportunity of a life time.

It turned out to be so much more…

At the age of twenty five, Emma Lexington takes off to New York on a once in a life time twelve-month job exchange with the New York Warriors. Determined to make the most of the opportunity, she prepares herself for life in the big apple—fast paced, exciting and a whole lot of fun. What she hasn’t prepared for though, is meeting him.

The charming Will Jensen is in the prime of his playing career. As the star quarterback for the Warriors, his carefree, football centric life is thrown into disarray when he meets Emma, the beautiful, easy going Australian girl who joins the Warriors staff.

Unwilling to throw her professional reputation away on a fling with the playboy quarterback, Emma turns down Will’s advances, even though she can’t deny the attraction she feels for him. Their pull toward one another grows, but it takes a near disaster for Emma to finally give Will a chance.

Getting together might have been hard, but figuring out how to stay together will prove even more challenging as Emma must decide between conflicting loyalties.

Lexington and 42nd is a fun, sexy romance, set in the exciting world of the NFL in the fabulous city of New York.

Originally this book wasn’t on my TBR list but when the second one in the series came out I decided to read this one too because I hate reading series out of order. Well, the cover is really beautiful and the synopsis is enticing too so it wasn’t that big of a sacrifice. Or so I thought.

The book has a solid writing style and the content of the plot is also sounds interesting and I liked Will the male main character but other than that there is nothing much to the book. The whole plot is dragged out especially the romance and honestly there are a couple of boring parts to the story. The focus is so strictly concentrates on Emma struggle to decide and her back and forth actions. Since Emma is the most disagreeable thing in the book for me this fact didn’t help the story much.

Emma is really indecisive and I hate characters with this personality trait. That’s why I hate love triangles too for example. She just couldn’t decide what she wants love or her carrier or not even this because honestly her carrier would have been fine if she doesn’t drags out her decision to the point of causing problems for the team. In addition to this while she was contemplating her options she kind of lead Will on, she was a tease just to change her mind at the last minute. Let’s just say she drove me up the walls. Not to mention her cluelessness regarding the sport she was representing was ridiculous and in my opinion refuted her so called commitment to her profession that was root to all the drama in the book.
I liked Will. He is really straightforward about what he wants and pretty honest with his intentions. He is not the typical over the top celebrity athlete; he is more reserved and really persistent when it comes to Emma. Oh he has his flaws too, mainly his naivety regarding his employers but you can’t blame him for it too much.

There are a couple of cute and funny scenes in the book but for me it felt like it took ages to finish it and was a real struggle to fight myself through it. It ends with a HEA but the journey that took us to this point is really exhausting. So yeah this book just wasn’t for me.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

