4 stars, Viki's review

Review ‘A Bloody Kingdom’

Title: A Bloody Kingdom
Author: J.J. McAvoy
Series: Ruthless people #4
Genres: New adult, Romance
Add to Goodreads

It has been eight years since the Callahans defeated Avian Doers and conquered Chicago. Melody is now the Governor and public face of the family, while Liam rises as the Ceann na Conairte of both the Irish and Italians. Their reach is limitless; their power endless…but is it possible to have too much power? Can Liam and Melody raise a family, a city, and an empire? Only a fool would try to stop them now…

J.J. McAvoy is one of the few authors who never disappointed me so far and the Ruthless people series were my first read and love by her. So when I found out that there is a fourth book in the series I was floored with excitement. But at the same time I had my fear regarding the story because it could have gone a lot of different way and not just in a good.

The author once again created a phenomenal story which I could immerse myself in from the very beginning. Her writing style is consistently fantastic. The plot is lively, eventful and there is not one dull moment in it. What is new and different from the previous books is that the story is told from numerous points of view, like practically every family member gets at least one chapter. I’m a bit torn about loving or hating this development. For one it’s interesting to see into the heads of the least central characters too which also functions as a kind of epilogue for them. On the other hand it pulls the story into so many different direction and unfocused the storyline a bit. I mean some of the lovey-dovey, mushy family stuff between the conflicts and shooting scenes throw me off a bit.

“And if anything comes against us, we will do what we have always done.”
“Fight?”
“Win.”

“Wife, there is no expiration date on vengeance. It doesn’t just last a lifetime, it spans generations. So let us rest tonight; it is not us who will die tomorrow.”
“Shakespeare’s got nothin’ on you.”

There is a lot of conflicting emotion and events going on in the book. For one to me the mafia and this public political thing didn’t really fit together. And then Melody and Liam have quite conflicting emotions regarding their family and parenting style. This I could understand especially after the way it got proven that they grew way too complacent in the 8 years between the third and fourth book. This caused a strain between Liam and Melody and not just emotionally they also struggled with the status quo within the mafia too.

Melody grew restless in her constricted political carrier and her hard and brutal childhood started to rear its head more and more but this was the fact that helped her strengthen her resolve regarding the hard parenting decisions she had to make.
There are a couple of ridiculous and unreliable scenes in it mostly shootings or miraculous recovering but I really enjoyed the book. However this was a BITTERSWEET reading experience for me. I loved the fact that I get to read more about my adored characters but I hated the ending I wish I didn’t read it. If it makes any sense.? I liked the third book ending way better than this; this one just broke my heart and frustrated me to no end. Anyway I can’t wait to read Ethan story.

You Leave a Comment

