3 stars, Viki's review

Review ‘Trigger’

Title: Trigger
Author: Scarlett Dawn
Series: Origin #1
Genres: Paranormal romance, Dystopian, Shapeshifters, New adult
Add to Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author, Scarlett Dawn, has created a fresh and magical new adventure for romance and paranormal lovers alike. Shifters rule the world through corporations after the humans all but destroyed Earth. It’s too bad humans are still oblivious. They have no clue terrifying beasts run their broken world.

And then along came a human. A beautiful and klutzy human.

She’s the trigger the shifters have been waiting for…
But beware of the soul-sucking darkness soon to follow.

My Thoughts

I absolutely love Scarlett dawn style so I was really excited to start this book. Unfortunately, Trigger is kind of disappointed me. But let’s start at the beginning.
The first thing that I have to mentions is that I fall in love with the cover at first glance, it’s absolutely beautiful and eye-catching, not to mention somewhat telling.

The author writing style is beautifully consistence so there is no complaint there. However the two things I like the most about her works are her kick ass heroines and the exquisite and phenomenal world building she usually does. Unfortunately I had the most problem with this two particular element in Trigger.
First off the world building is really spares in the book. I’m sure it’s there but the few hints about the how’s and whys, and a couple of explanations found almost at the very end of the book. The whole world building took shape really slowly and even then there are lot glitches in it, it’s really rough around the edges and its shame but I hope in the next books in the series the history and the hierarchy is going to clear up. Also what I found strange is the whole paranormal element to it, which is practically an unused part of this story; its role in the plot is small or most likely well hidden. Especially since honestly the whole storyline is not the most eventful one. I expected a bit more action since it’s a full length book and the author is really good at packing a whole adventure into 60 pages. Don’t get me wrong I liked it well enough and see the potential in it for great things.

Regarding the main character, Poppy, she is not easily or instantly likeable. The first impression she left is a petulant and little bit selfish child and not the smart and grown up woman she later proves to be. She is strong, clever, stubborn and a klutz. Although this last trait of hers is not the most prominent of her ‘abilities’, it’s only shows up at the most inappropriate or embarrassing moments. The romance between her and Godric is a whirlwind and they have a lot of cute moments between them but I can’t say that they have the overpowering chemistry.
We don’t see too much of Godric and his posse personalities because the whole story is from Poppy POW and they rarely interact. Still I liked the dynamic between the six and I really enjoyed their little moments. I see good things coming in this department.

I liked this story, it wasn’t as good as I expected and for a while I was even confused because I think the synopsis is a bit misleading. But I curious about where its headed and really want to know more about the other shifter men in it and since it’s looks like the next book is about Finn, my wish kinda gets granted.

You Leave a Comment

