Blast from the Past #1

In the Blast from the past post I’m going to recommend, review books, series that:

  1. I absolutely loved but I think never got the hype they deserved, nowadays you can’t even hear about them and/or just simply really underrated by my opinion.
  2. They are not recent releases, came out more than 3 years ago.

I’m going to try and do one every 2 weeks to one per month depends on my time. Not more frequently because my old review stash is depleting and not endless. I hope you are going to enjoy it. Also I’m going to try and write them as spoiler free as possible but some minor ones are unavoidable.

11372943Samantha Young- The tales of the Lunarmorte series
Add to Goodreads

It’s bad enough feeling different among the human crowd, but feeling different among wolves?

No one said returning to her pack would be easy, especially after ten years without them, but seventeen year old Caia Ribeiro is unprepared for the realities of the transition. Raised in a world where kids aren’t scared by bedtime tales of the bogeyman but by the real life threat of enemy supernaturals who might come creeping into their community to kill them in their sleep, Caia is used to the darkness; she’s used to the mystery and the intrigue of the ancient underworld war she’s bound to by chance of birth. What she’s having trouble with are pack members treating her with wary suspicion, the Elders tucking secrets behind their backs out of her sightline, and her young Alpha, Lucien, distracting her, with a dangerous attraction, from her decision to uncover the truth.

But as the saying goes ‘the truth will out’ and when it does, Caia will only have so long to prepare herself before the war comes pounding on their door threatening to destroy the safe, secret lives of the wolves… and the girl they protect.

YA Paranormal Romance recommended for ages 16 and up.

Book 2& 3          ❖ River cast ❖              ❖ Blood solstice

This is an amazing and highly entertaining paranormal saga about the supernatural world with werewolves in the focus. I read a lot of books about shifters in my time since they are my favorite supernatural beings, among those stories this one fall into is in my top 5. And it’s strange because it took me a long while to get into the book, only around after the 4th go could I entirely immerse myself into it and finish the whole book. Thank god for my persistence because I absolutely loved it. The plot is flowing and continuous between the three books, full of action and nerve wrackingly exciting. The main storyline slowly comes to light, in every book you discover new layer which deepens the mystery and boarders the reader horizon.

This is one of Samantha Young earlier works and personally I like her fantasy induced writings so much better than her more recent books. Her writing style is clean and established even then.  She has a magical way with word and creates enchanting adventures.

Although I think it’s a marvelous tale but regarding the myth of the werewolves there is nothing much new, mainly uses already existing and repeatedly used ideas but they are combined in a talented way. Also the world building is something phenomenal. All of this presented without dry info dumps and gradually but in a timely manner. The characters are individual and all of them are different personalities, not to mention develop or at the least change a lot during the story.

Caia, the main character, starts out as a shy, closed off and withdrawn ‘little girl’ who transform into a strong, brave, confident fighter and leader, who is not afraid to act when needed even if it comes with serious consequences for her and those of she cares about most.  Or there is Jade, the happy-go-lucky, cheerful and carefree girl who goes through a series of serious events and became a train-wreck. Beside them there a lot of other constantly transforming and likeable characters.

The relationships in this book are all really complex and multilayered. None of them are easy, and each one of the individuals have to fight for what they want and get over numerous obstacles. For example like to the main characters Caia and Lucian with the exes, lies, secrets and different opinions that surrounds them, or just like in the case of Caia parents.

I love this series as a whole; it has everything I need in a paranormal novel, romance, conflict, overpowering emotions, great relationship, exciting events and interesting background. All of this balanced perfectly.

Favorite character: Caia

Favorite scene: I have two and interestingly enough both of them are somewhat negative as in not happy, but the present such powerful emotions and great execution that it took me over completely. One is Caia is fighting the demon and get seriously wounded and the other is when Lucian banishes her from the pack.

What I didn’t like: The end, it’s happy ending but I expected a stronger final ’battle’

Favorite cover of the series: I liked the cover of the third book the best, it pretty and tricky. It took me for a while to figure out how to look at it.

 

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

