Review ‘Fatal Harmony’

Title: Fatal Harmony
Author: Anne Malcom
Series: The vein chronicles #1
Genres: Paranormal romance, Vampires, Magic, Dark
Add to Goodreads

I may be the villain of the story, but at least I get a leading role.
Evil is a term thrown around history and literature as if it’s something so easily definable. A concept to fight against.
Evil doesn’t exist.
Neither does ‘good.’
Vampires do, though.
I just happen to be one.
I’ve cruised through the centuries managing to avoid all the wars, supernatural and human, but still going to all the best parties.
I would say I avoided bloodshed, but it’s kind of part of the whole ‘vampire’ thing.
I’ve lived on the fringes of a society that considered cruelty and sadism favorable character traits for almost five hundred years. Now I’m in the middle of a war that might just put my nonbeating heart in a lot of danger.
Battles, I can handle.
The impossible attraction between me and the vampire slayer, not to mention the penetrating gaze of the king of our race, on the other hand?
I might not get out undead.

My Thoughts

This book was phenomenal. There was a huge hype about it even way before the release date but I still went into it with quite a reservation because the author writing style wasn’t my favorite based on my previous experiences with her works. I’m happy to say that this book swept me off my feet within one page of the story.

The writing is exceptional; it improved a lot since Making the cut. The world the author created is amazing and has a lot of original element to it. I really enjoyed delving into the secrets and shadows of this scenery. But in all honesty this one is a really brutal, dark, grisly story and world, not really for the faint hearted but Isla character puts a comic, lightening spin on the complex and extremely fast paced plot. Unfortunately the storyline is a little chaotic thanks to the numerous and unexplained secrets and mysteries and the continuously popping up questions. Not knowing the answer for any of them became quite frustrating by the end. So the truth is that the cliffhanger is not the only factor that makes me crazy excited about the next book.

Isla is probably my favorite female lead so far this year. She is kickass, loved her attitude and somewhat sarcastic, narcissist, callous and brutally honest self. But she has a lot of flaws and built really thick walls round herself. Also her inability to take anything seriously can be quite annoying but for a while it worked. One thing tough, her philosophical and ideological lectures during stare offs and every other inappropriate moment is a bit strange and it breaks up the flow of the events and also betrays her soft spot toward humans.
Her romantic life is messed up as hell, not just because her parents trying to sell her out as a broodmare but she catches the eye of two not quite ideal man whom are polar opposites of each other and their lifestyle doesn’t really agree with her. So there is a love-triangle-y situation and I have to tell you that she doesn’t ends up with the one I rooted for.

The story kept me on edge the whole time and there is a lot of unused potential to it still. This is a long book but you won’t regret the time spent on it. I’m really curious how things will develop in the nest books especially since I didn’t expect the twist at the end. The only thing I didn’t give it a perfect score is because as the story progressed thing became mushier and mushier and Isla hardened personality started to soften up in not the most appealing direction, she started to lose her edge.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

