ARC Review ‘The Alchemists of Loom’

Title: The Alchemists of Loom
Author: Elise Kova
Series: Loom Saga #1
Genres: Fantasy, Steampunk, YA, Magic, Romance, High Fantasy, Dragons
Add to Goodreads

Her vengeance. His vision. Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors. Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins. When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go. He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.

My Thoughts

I received a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review.

My previous experiences with the works of this author prompted me to throw myself into this story without reserves. I said to say that I didn’t like this story as much as I expected. I knew that I’m going to have a harder time with this one because I’m not a big fan of steampunk stories but strangely the genre wasn’t the biggest deterrent for me in this book.

It took me 5-6 go before I could get further than the 4th chapter into the book thanks to the description of the created world. There is no doubt the author created an amazing, colorful and intricate world it’s confusing as hell.  There is not enough information, introduction to things to help create a clear picture about the whole situation. There is a unique terminology, creatures, magical system in the book but not enough to go on. It was just hazy for me and after a while it started to annoy me that I didn’t know how to picture the characters or what exactly is going on. Sure around the end I gained a deeper understanding about the events but it would have been helpful to understand the plot from the beginning. Because of this I couldn’t fully immerse myself into the storyline.

The story is told from different point of views namely from Ari’s, Cvareh’s, Florence’s and Leona’s. Ari is the main character and she is sassy, sarcastic with a darker sense of humor. She is strong and talented and because of this I felt her being quite smug at times. She takes a lot of risks but wouldn’t do anything that jeopardizes Florence. They had a deep connection. She is an interesting character but I don’t know how I feel about her yet.
Cvareh is in a tricky situation so he is quite desperate when he meets Ari. He is really sweet and loyal. Not judgmental like Ari and really caring. Their relationship is complicating and progressing really slowly but steadily. At the end I wouldn’t exactly say that they have a romantic connection, it’s more like a deeply rooted partnership.

Leona represents the villain point of view. She worships the king and her priorities are straight according to this. She is ruthless and determined. I liked her parts; it’s really interesting to see what’s going around in her head. In my opinion she is the one who brought the fire into the plot.

Elise Kova has a fantastic and board imagination and maybe I didn’t like this book as much but I’m not too worried because I didn’t like the first book in Air awakens series as much either. It’s going to pick up in the next book I’m sure.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

