nixitN’s ARC Review: ‘Traitor to the Throne’ by Alwyn Hamilton

This is not about blood or love. This is about treason. Nearly a year has passed since Amani and the rebels won their epic battle at Fahali. Amani has come into both her powers and her reputation as the Blue-Eyed Bandit, and the Rebel Prince’s message has spread across the desert – and some might say out of control. But when a surprise encounter turns into a brutal kidnapping, Amani finds herself betrayed in the cruellest manner possible. Stripped of her powers and her identity, and torn from the man she loves, Amani must return to her desert-girl’s instinct for survival. For the Sultan’s palace is a dangerous one, and the harem is a viper’s nest of suspicion, fear and intrigue. Just the right place for a spy to thrive… But spying is a dangerous game, and when ghosts from Amani’s past emerge to haunt her, she begins to wonder if she can trust her own treacherous heart.

Title: Traitor to the Throne (Rebel of the Sands #2)
Author: Alwyn Hamilton
Published: February 2nd 2017 by Faber & Faber
Genres: high fantasy, mythology, young adult, romance


My thoughts:

“The Blue-Eyed Bandit was always more powerful than I was. The Rebel Prince was always more powerful than Ahmed. And now, we could write a better story than the prodigal prince. One no one would ever forget. One the entirety of Miraji would stand behind.”

I can’t say bads about this part neither, because it exceeded my awaiting. It was exciting and twisty story. Something continuously happened, I’m never bored of it. On the contrary I’m amused reading. New enemies and new allies appeared in it. Some enemies played cunning way and some alliance formed unexpectedly.
This part concentrated on friendship, political background, Palace events, Sultan and Amani’s character development. Love triangle and teen drama weren’t in it. But Jin appeared in it and this is bitter feeling for me, because I liked Jin in the previous part.

“I was a Demdji. I was the Blue-Eyed Bandit. I was their friend. I had among the enemy. I hadn’t left them.”

Amani has developed a lot. Of course in right direction. She begins even stronger that she saw fight of the Sultan and Ahmed from different perspective. She collected information for Rebellious and she tried not to be sorrowful about Jin. I liked in her that she hadn’t showed off her fear for nobody in the palace.
I still like Amani, Jin, Shazad, Hala, Izz, Maz, Imin and I liked Sam from new characters. I liked Amani and Shazad’s friendship, it was realistic depicted. And I liked Amani and Jin’s love relationship, their love stood the test of distance.

Soon an adventure will end, which I’m waiting eagerly, but I’m sad soon must say goodbye my favorite characters. Alwyn Hamilton wrote great story and great sequel. And references describing are about Amani and Princess Hawa. So I’m very curious on them, I have ideas. And it ended with cliffhanger, which I read right now, but I must wait on that.

I received this copy from the Faber & Faber via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My favorite quotes from the book:

“Fortune and Fate. It meant that fortune and fate weren’t always the same.”

“You want something. People who want things have to earn them.”
“I know how to earn things. I didn’t grow up in a palace.”

“I wasn’t the girl from Dustwalk any more. I could make sure nobody got left behind again.”

“Djinn’s daughters shouldn’t make promises. It usually doesn’t end well.”
“Then this had better not be the end, Bandit.”

You Leave a Comment

