Review ‘Egomaniac’

Title: Egomaniac
Author: Vi Keeland
Series: Standalone
Genres: Romance, Contemporary, Humor, NA
Add to Goodreads

The night I met Drew Jagger, he’d just broken into my new Park Avenue office. I dialed 9-1-1 before proceeding to attack him with my fancy new Krav Maga skills. He quickly restrained me, then chuckled, finding my attempted assault amusing. Of course, my intruder had to be arrogant. Only, turned out, he wasn’t an intruder at all. Drew was the rightful occupant of my new office. He’d been on vacation while his posh space was renovated. Which was how a scammer got away with leasing me office space that wasn’t really available for rent. I was swindled out of ten grand. The next day, after hours at the police station, Drew took pity on me and made me an offer I couldn’t refuse. In exchange for answering his phones while his secretary was out, he’d let me stay until I found a new place. I probably should have acted grateful and kept my mouth shut when I overheard the advice he was spewing to his clients. But I couldn’t help giving him a piece of my mind. I never expected my body to react every time we argued. Especially when that was all we seemed to be able to do. The two of us were complete opposites. Drew was a bitter, angry, gorgeous-as-all-hell, destroyer of relationships. And my job was to help people save their marriages. The only thing the two of us had in common was the space we were sharing. And an attraction that was getting harder to deny by the day.

My Thoughts

Egomaniac is a sweet, straightforward romance with a definite HEA where is nothing left unresolved (okay maybe some minor things not quite relevant to the story). Alas an easy read a breather between mind consuming stories or hard work. This book once again shows the talent of the author. She crates phenomenal stories which are really light reads but not one-dimensional or simple. There is definitely conflict in it that that starts the emotions flowing but not the headache inducing ridiculous drama that a lot of authors so fond of. Don’t get me wrong sometimes that is just what i need but not always however there is no time when I can’t get into the mood to read some of Vi Keeland books. This one was a funny and magical story that kept a permanent smile on my face while I was reading it.

“Do you usually order lunch? I’m afraid to go out and miss the delivery.”
“Sometimes. What are you in the mood for?”
I shrugged. “I don’t care. I’m not picky.”
“How about Indian food? Curry House is a few blocks away and delivers quick.”
I scrunched up my nose.
“You don’t like Indian food?”
“Not really.”
“Okay. How about Chinese?”
“Too much MSG.”
“Sushi?”
“I’m allergic to fish.”
“Mexican?”
“Too heavy for lunch.”
“You do understand what the phrase I’m not picky means, right?”
I narrowed my eyes at him. “Of course. You’re just picking weird stuff.”

The two main characters seem like the polar opposites in the beginning but as the story progresses they create a genuine friendship and realize that they have more in common that they thought.
Emerie is a bit naïve and clueless at the beginning of the story, she is not really prepared for life in New York City. She is also a bit touchy- feely and informal which opens up the communication fast between her and Drew. She is hopelessly in love with someone who strings her along for years so she needs a bigger push to even entertain the possibility of her and Drew together, but maybe this, the fact that she didn’t handle Drew as a prospective boyfriend at the beginning is the thing that lets them get to know each other. Otherwise she probably would have ended up being a one night stand.
Drew is crass and brutally honest, he is also a bit jaded thanks to his past yet his personality is not dominated by it, not everything in his life comes to it. He is an amazing father and womanizer but not in an ‘in your face’ manner, where he parades his conquest around. I liked him and his honest created a comic, humorous element to the plot. He and Emerie make a fantastic team and their chemistry is off the charts. What’s more is that their relationship is really believable and feels realistic.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

