Review ‘Until June’

Title: Until June
Author: Aurora Rose Reynolds
Series: Until Her #2
Genres: Romance, NA, Contemporary, Military, Bikers, Erotica
Add to Goodreads

June Mayson and Evan Barrister’s whirlwind courtship resulted in a secret marriage right before he left for boot camp. Evan knows deep in his gut that June is too good for him, but after getting a taste of the beautiful life they can have together, he’s unwilling to let her go. June promises to wait for him, knowing neither time or distance will ever change her feelings for Evan—that is until she’s served with divorce papers while he’s overseas and she’s forced to let him go. Her marriage and divorce a well-kept secret, the last person June expects to run into when she moves back to her hometown is Evan. Angry over the past, she does everything within her power to ignore the pull she feels whenever he is near. But how can she ignore the pain she sees every time their eyes meet? How can she fight the need to soothe him even if she knows she’s liable to get hurt once again? Is it possible for June and Evan to find their way back to each other again? Or will they be stopped by an outside force before they ever have a shot?

My Thoughts

After I read Until November I was truly and wholly hooked by Aurora Rose Reynolds books and I read everything from her practically the moment it came out. So back then when I found out that books the Until kids get their own story I was really excited. Unfortunately they didn’t really impress me so far.

This is the second book in the Until Her series which concentrates on the female children stories. I didn’t like it too much or more like it’s a kind of mehh story for me. I like that the author is consistent with her style and she writes beautifully and cleanly. However I wasn’t overly fond of the characters, they just weren’t anything outstanding or unique. There was nothing about them that made me want to know more about their story. And honestly I wasn’t really satisfied with the plot either.

There are good elements too it. For example I liked that despite the fact that their relationship practically forms in the past we didn’t get constant reminiscence, I hate when the flow of the story is broken up by them. The storyline concentrated more on present events and the reader had to figure out their past bit by bit, which put an interesting and motivating twist on things. So that was a positive part of it. But overall the whole plot felt a bit rushed and splotchy. So much as that around the end of the book things started to not make any sense. The storyline is not as developed that I used to from the author. It feels a bit like there is less effort to it than the others.

This is an easy and likeable read but I had so high expectations toward it that for me it fell short.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

