Tijan – Home Tears

Dani’s survived a lot of sh*t storms. Her mother died. Her two sisters loathed her. One aunt hated her. The other was strangely distant, but the worst storm—being dumped by her childhood best friend/high school boyfriend/first love for her younger sister. There went the one person who was hers and with that, the main reason she stuck around. So, she left for ten years. But now she’s back, and nothing’s the same. With help from Jonah Bannon, a reformed—kind of—bad boy she remembers from high school, Dani uncovers family secrets that have spanned generations. And along with those, she’s about to face the biggest sh*t storm of her life. Only this time, she may not survive.

RATING

Usually I love the author works. She has an interesting style and a way with dramatic and emotional stories that give me goose bumps and reach the deepest corners of my heart. However with Home tears I just didn’t get story. I didn’t feel this one, just went over my head.

What I usually like in Tijan woks the depths of the emotional drama or the conflicts is missing in this case. All of the problems simply overcomplicated by the characters themselves and the so much damn secrets. The problems, emotions are not just overcomplicated but subdued, not really expressed either. As a result I felt such a pressure during reading and it simply annoyed me.

Dani handled everything so passively or mutedly, I was waiting for the moment when she snaps thanks to her suppressed emotions. If she is over most of her grievances then why go back and drag everything back up. But then there are a couple of reminiscences in the story that proves that she was just as passive and indifferent toward these event back then when it was fresh. She just ran as she usually does, wasn’t angry or really hurt either. There is a lot of conflict in the plot that are not really used up for their full potential because of Dani passive attitude. These instances were quite anticlimactic for me. Her suppression of her emotions is the one detail that creates the pressure I couldn’t shake off. But really her strangeness can be because she has a horrible family where everybody keeps stupid secrets which hurts the other members of the family just because of the way they want others to see them.
Her relationship and openness with Jonah is like a therapeutic connection to her and he is the one who helps Dani find her way again.

Definitely not one of the best books I ever read from Tijan but an easy and quick read.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

