4 stars

Review ‘This Much is True’

Both on the verge of fame. A ballerina who lies. A baseball player who believes her. Well, the truth changes everything. Tally Landon just wants to escape her tragic story if just for one night. She doesn’t count on meeting Lincoln Presley, Stanford’s baseball wonder, but plans to add him to her long list of one-night stands. That’s the plan. Lying to him about her age and her name is just a part of her don’t-get-emotionally-attached style. She doesn’t count on being found out, nor on ever seeing Linc again or falling in love. Lincoln Presley’s life is all mapped out. There is only baseball. With the major leagues circling their favorite prospect with a lucrative offer, he cannot afford to mess up. And, he doesn’t; until he meets up with the girl he saved from the burning wreckage on the 101 on Valentine’s Day months before. By the time he learns her real name and of all the lies she’s told, he’s in far too deep to ever really let her go. When fame and lies tear them apart, one truth remains; and fate, most definitely, has a different set of plans. This much is true.

RATING

I needed to think about what to write about this book because I had really mixed feelings about it. It has a pretty good basic topic but it’s so damn long, unnecessarily long. There is a lot word to word repetition in it even after a while the characters started to quote themselves so you can imagine. Thanks to this some parts of the story I simply skimmed over. I understand that the author just wanted to put more emphasis to those particular parts of the plot but in my opinion mentioning it twice is more than enough.

After thinking a while i got to the conclusion that this book is practically a trilogy put together in one installment. What’s funny that during reading I constantly was thinking ’When is it going to end?’ but when i finished it I was sorry that it’s ended. It’s frustrating because it felt like I read it for a week when in reality I finished it in a day. Maybe this effect is the result of the writing style. I’m not sure but I know that it caused the majority of my mixed feelings.

The story is similar to Taryn Fisher- Love me with lies series but here they doesn’t hate each other but fate stands in their way. Tally had a lot of problems even before the uncharacteristically harsh tragedy which just complicated her life even more. It’s not really clear why she had problems before the accident but after this they just multiply and only Linc can reach her.

This book is frustrating and emotional but has a really satisfying ending. It wasn’t an easy ride but the only important thing that we got there. I got immersed in the story from the very first scene. Holly short scene is really beautiful and touching.
The author is really convincing. At one part of the story I hated every one of the characters. They irritated me, confused me, disappointed me or simply frustrated me but the author successfully changed my opinion about each of them which is not an easy feat.

One of the most positive things about the book is the spontaneity of it. The characters never did what I expected them to do especially Tally. She is a wild card in the book. Although I simply couldn’t get on board on with her relationship with Rob. I loved Tally but she made rash decisions without thinking about the consequences. She is resilient and persistent, devoted to dancing but in reality doesn’t know what she really wants in life.
Linc is a really nice guy, he is caring and sensitive and has a strange sense of humor. But he is really unlucky and pulls the short straw every time especially regarding Tally. Also he is the only one who can handle Tally Landon. Unfortunately no matter how much they meant to be together there is something or someone constantly in the way of their happiness. Their relationship is one of the most complicated one I ever read about.

However the story is not only about Linc and Tally. We can follow the life a lot of different character even if just only from secondhand recounting. The story of Marla and Charlie is impossible to follow and sometimes very irritating. I didn’t like Marla at all no matter how much she tries to be the perfect friend a lot of times she is selfish and abandons Tally. Without Kimberly the whole plot would have been so much easier. She constantly causes trouble between Linc and Tally. And Nika is simply an irritating and calculating b***h.

During the whole book Tally and Linc spends around 2 whole day really together and it was strange for me how they built a year’s long love story on a one night stand after which they didn’t even have time to get to know each other a little bit. In this respect the story is a bit surreal but I almost cried during reading numerous times which means the author successfully conveyed the emotional charge of the story. That’s not easy.

This book is fascinating, well written, with solid background and complex characters. It’s contains the feelings and events of the real world hidden behind the guise of a fairy tale. The characters constantly develop as they get older. The plot is full of romance, loss, faith and lies. The reader doesn’t know what to expect. A slowly progressing story but really fulfilling. I glad I read it.

1 thought on “Review ‘This Much is True’”

  1. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review my work. I appreciate your candor and honesty about the story and my writing in your review. This storyline has been compared to Ms. Tarryn Fisher’s work before. I hadn’t read her series before writing Linc and Tally but now I have and I love Tarryn’s fiction and writing style. Thank you for the comparison ~ I’m touched!

    Best to you,

    Katherine Owen

    Liked by 1 person

You Leave a Comment

