Beth Ehemann – Even the Score

Single dad Andy Shaw loves his job as a sports agent, with one exception: it doesn’t leave him much time for his kids. No parent likes being sidelined, so Andy decides to hire someone to share the workload. But when one of the hottest agents in the industry applies, Andy knows that this deal is definitely trouble. Danicka Douglas works her butt off, but being an attractive woman in a testosterone-heavy industry isn’t exactly a cakewalk. She guards her professional reputation fiercely, which means no crushing on her gorgeous boss. But the more they ignore that sexy little spark, the more it sizzles… Just when it looks like romance might be in the game plan, Dani is threatened by a stalker with dark intentions. To keep her safe, Andy must cross the line between professional and very personal… because this time, he’s playing for keeps.
add to goodreads

RATING

What is primarily attracted me to this book above all else is the single father aspect. I really like books about single parents because there is a level of maturity to the characters in stories like that, which is a breath of fresh air after the numerous overly childish 30-something heroes/heroines there are in books nowadays. Don’t get me wrong I like those books too but sometimes it a bit overwhelming. So yeah when I decided beside this particular story I purposefully was looking for something with single parent in it. And also I read a couple of other works from the author and liked them quite a bit.

It took me a few chapters to realize that the main character Andy is the same one who is also appeared in the Cranberry Inn series. But you can understand the events without reading those books but I recommend it because it is also a great story.

Andy is a really devoted and caring father but he is just as devoted to his demanding work so most of the times he ends up forgetting about one of them. Unfortunately this is mainly his duties as a father. So to eliminate this mistake of his he decides to hire someone to help with his workload. This is how he meets Dannicka. However his professionalism and past relationship problems hold him back regarding his attraction towards his new coworker.
Dannicka worked really hard her whole life to get recognition in her work which is a mainly man dominated profession. So she is really strict with herself and has high standards and expectations toward her own self. She is fierce, independent and has a commanding presence but underneath it all she is a kind and direct person. She has a really hard outer shell but when someone starts to scare her it quickly starts to melt despite her desperate tries to prevent it.
The attraction is really obvious between them but both of them fight it quite stubbornly for different reasons. Andy, after admitting his feelings and intentions for himself is really direct and honest with Dannicka but the girl can be a bitch in her desperate attempt to deny her feelings. They are really good together and their connection is really cute. I also really liked how Dannicka interacted with Andy’s children. The two kids a really nice addition to the story.

Some of the other characters whom we already met in the Cranberry Inn series are also show up time to time and they kind of represent the humor in the plot. There is a fantastic friendship between Andy, Brody and Viper and it was a delight to read about their little meetings and get-togethers.

This is a quick read; the author has a really clean style. There is everything in the plot that a good and enjoyable story needs. Great characters, interesting plot, romance and humor. What I missed is a little bit more about the professional life of the characters especially Dannicka. When there is a case with a woman trying to prevail in a man dominated job I like to read about it, about how they do it or how they succeeding. Unfortunately in this story after the initial introduction the professional part of the characters kind of takes a back seat. Other than this I adored the book quite a bit. Especially since I couldn’t guess the identity of the ‘bad guy’ correctly. It was a real surprise for me because it never even occurred to me to suspect that person.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

