Jessica Gadziala – Reign (The Henchmen MC #1)

One notorious 1%er. One innocent trapped in an impossible situation. One vicious crime lord. Three people who aren’t who they appear to be = one big (bloody) mess. Reign is no stranger to the criminal underbelly and hard life, but when a random woman comes (literally) crashing into his life- learning things she has no business knowing, and bringing with her the weight of the city’s biggest skin trader- the “hard life” starts to take on a whole new meaning.
add to goodreads

RATING

So this book was my first read from this particular author. I had it in a while but my TBR list is a mile long so I only got around reading it now.
Oh, and I absolutely loved the plot and the writing style is unbelievable good. The book is so easy to read. What I think is really interesting that I noticed some of the sentences kind of rhyme which gave the story a poetic feel. I don’t know if it was a conscious thing on part of the author or just a coincidence or I was too tired when I read it and just imagined the whole thing. But nonetheless I think it’s a really original idea, I never read anything like this before and liked it quite a bit.

I adore most of the characters, mainly Reign, Cash, Wolf and Summer. They all have fantastic but distinct personalities. In Summer case, she surprised me since her recollections show a spoiled and naïve person, who she was before her kidnapping. Yet, during the story she becomes a strong, independent and confident character. I also liked in her character that she come up with a lot of questions regarding her relationship that I also think about when I read romance novels like this. Because let’s be honest the authors most of the time just skiff over the realistic way of thinking in cases like this and writes the story without considering real reactions.
Reign has a sympathetic personality and unlike most of the time he is quite down to earth. He doesn’t have the usual cliché characteristics I’m used to from MC male main characters. This can be said about Cash to who is Reign funnier, more carefree version and personally my favorite character in the book.

The plot is really strong and eventful but not overly dramatic. The romance and actions is perfectly balanced in it.
Sure there are a couple of instance where the way the characters think or act is a bit stupid and I miss a bigger presence of the club in the book. The whole story plays out a bit isolated but there is a lot of original idea in the book and I laughed a lot especially on Summer antics that despite some of it defects I gave it a perfect score.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

