Harper Bentley – Thursdays (The Wait #1)

Birdie: I fell in love when I was 16. I married him. I thought life was good. Now he’s dying. Beck: I married an addict. I didn’t know it at the time. She hid it well. Now she could die. When Bernadette—Birdie—Chapman and Beck Griffin meet in grief counseling they have an instant connection. For Birdie, it’s a comfort to share her feelings with someone who knows what she’s going through. For Beck, it’s an outlet, someone who understands his anger. But neither is prepared when they fall in love. And the guilt is almost too much to bear. Thursdays—a love story of two broken hearts that find each other… and try to become a whole…
add to goodreads

RATING

Okay! So this book took me by complete surprise. I will admit it honestly that I choose to read this story because I liked the cover but other than that I didn’t know anything about it. Also this is the first book from the author that I actually read. I own The power that be series form her but didn’t get around to read it yet. But after this I sure am going to schedule it in sometime soon.

The plot of this book is an emotional wringer and it hurts to read it. The emotions come through so easily and fully. I love when an author can write an emotional story in a way the reader can feel those emotions not just read about it. This book is a perfect example of this. Really the actual events in the story are not even that important you just have to immerse yourself into the feelings. This is one of the books that I could truly enjoy in weeks and after I finished it I felt so much lighter and better even if the story is mostly about hurt feelings and grief.

Both of the main characters go through a lot. There is hurt over hurt and it seems they just can’t get a break. Their situations are really similar and they both are struggling with their feelings. There is grief, love, hurt and anger, disappointment and regret. But more importantly there are things they feel but can’t express because the society’s expectations and their consciences don’t let them. They are in an impossible situation and drowning even if they are desperately trying to survive but at the same time support their spouses without judgment. In one of these desperate moments they find each other and became the solace for the other. However the common ground and the way they understand the other starts to change into something else, something more.

I really loved how Beck and Birdie have found each other, and I felt so much anger toward their spouses even in their place. Maybe it’s not the right thing to feel but I think it is grounded. I’m a bit disappointed in Beck around the end of the story but in part I could understand his reasoning. But the ending I couldn’t believe it. That can’t be how it all ends. I need the next book like ASAP.

Even so it’s a shorter book and ends in a cliffhangerish way I absolutely loved it. The writing style is amazing; there is an extraordinary and powerful emotional charge behind the plot. This one was a quick and beautiful, heart wrenching read.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

