Chantal Fernando – Toxic Girl

Everyone has secrets. Finally, I had a fresh start. I knew no one. I could be anyone, or so I thought. I wanted to be invisible, to blend into the background. But it turned out keeping my secret wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be. Enter Grayson Mills. When Grayson noticed me, so did everyone else. He wanted me. Bad. And what Grayson wanted, he usually got.
add to goodreads

RATING

Since Chantal Fernando is one of my favorite author and I read and loved almost everything from her so far it was kind of obvious that I’m gonna read this, too. I liked this book it’s nowhere perfect and not even her best but I enjoyed it.

The story presents the love between Paris and Grayson that is full of jealousy and secrets. It starts with a huge secret which is the reason that Paris wants to start a new life. Fortunately the plot is built in a way that doesn’t drag the revelations out for ages but I was really curious to see how the other characters are going to get to know and react to it. This caused a pretty big excitement for me during reading. I was really rooting for her because it could have gone in a lot of different directions for her. And honestly she went through a lot because of her family and she deserves a little happiness.
Then comes Grayson, the boy who is extremely the caring and protective to the ones he sees as his. I l really liked his way of wooing Paris even if in the beginning he does it for all the wrong reasons.

Their relationship reminded me a bit of Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. Unfortunately they don’t have an easy job with it. Their biggest problem is with trust or rather the lack of it. For different reasons they are incredibly mistrustful and jealous of each other which caused a lot of conflict and argument between them. This took up a big part of the book. This was my biggest problem with the plot if not the only. The overwhelming amount of conflict between the characters. Moreover most of the time there isn’t even any real problem between them the conflicts mainly originated from the lack of communication between Paris and Grayson.

This is a great and enjoyable love story an easy and short read.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

