Tamsyn Bester – Beneath Your Beautiful (Beautiful #1)

On the outside, Huntley Morgan is your typical girl-next-door, with her long blonde hair and piercing blue eyes, and that’s exactly what she wants people to see. Her name exposes her to the demons of her past but remembering her reason for moving across the country to start over is what keeps her alive. For the first time since the brutal murder of her mother, Huntley allows herself to care about the people around her. Grayson Carter has everything a 21yr old College Senior could wish for – he’s the star of Whitley University’s football team, he has a different girl willing to be in his bed every night and a supportive family. For years he has managed keep his family together and hide their dark secrets from the small town of Breckinridge, Alabama. When Huntley and Grayson meet, a force so strong pulls them together in a hurricane of feelings neither of them could have ever anticipated. Huntley and Grayson try to stay away from each other, but when Huntley’s demons seek her out, their pasts become the biggest storm of all. Will they learn to trust each other and build a new future together or will they simply do nothing to prevent history from repeating itself?

RATING

I had the opportunity to read other works of the author so I wasn’t really surprised by how much I liked this book. I kinda expected it. The author writing makes it possible even for the hardest and more serious topics to be easily readable.

The story swept me of my feet from the very beginning. There is something in the two main characters that just requires the reader attention. I felt compelled to hear their story, to get to know them, their life, their past, fears and dreams. The story sucked me in right at the bat and when I reached the end of the book I simply wanted to know more. I didn’t want it to end.

Everybody has a past. Some easier, some harder and more painful. Somebody gets over their past and the scars it left behind without any hardship but there are some who struggles with it. This book perfectly represents these different scenarios.
Huntley is broken. Her ex broke her, walked right over her then without any time for recovery she lost somebody important. This was the last straw for her she realized she needs to wake up and save herself and start to heal not to sit idle and wait for the knight in shining armor. The irony of things is that the energy and power to do so comes from her meeting with Grayson. This healing process and the strength they drew from each other makes their relationship unbelievable beautiful.
Grayson feels immensely guilty and this feeling makes it impossible for him to feel happy. His situation could have an easier solution but the truth is harder than it sometimes seems. These two practically rescue and save each other.

Unfortunately for them the past doesn’t always stay where it should. This causes a lot of doubt and mistrust in their already fragile and just budding relationship. They have communicational problems and unintentionally hurt each other. Its maybe sounds morbid but it’s an enthralling adventure to follow along Huntley and Grayson on the road to overcome their obstacles and open up to each other.

The supportive cast also has an important role in the plot. Among them we get to know more deeply Demi and Brody. They also have a roller coaster like relationship. Personally I liked them as one but not as a couple. They give the much needed support for the main characters when they aren’t bickering or hurting each other.

The plot is really fast paced and easy to read. I finished it no time. It’s stunning and emotional story. However I expected a bit more drama in it. I felt as if lot of presented opportunity just got swept under the rug without using up it’ potential. I don’t know if it was a good choice or not.

This is a great and quick read with a meaningful storyline, beautiful characters and a lot of emotional healing. I definitely happy that I read it, it worth every minute of my time.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

